Margarita Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
It wasn't a bad idea in a pinch, and I got rid of my extra mix, but I wouldn't make it again unless I didn't have ingredients on hand to make something else. However, what i did find made the mix a little more "glaze like" was that I heated the mix first, then whisked some flour in, THEN put the chicken in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I changed this recipe a little (borrowing the advice of others' comments). I first marinated the chicken breasts in lime and three fresh garlic cloves. I added one packet of "sazon goya con culantro y achiote," one cup of margarita cocktail mix, one cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I used the frozen magarita mixer you can buy in the frozen juice section and followed the directions on the can as well as the ingredients above. I let it marinade for about two hours and it was absolutely delicious! Served it with red beans and rice and corn and we will definetly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I didn't like this at all. Dumped the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wittenberg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We enjoy this a lot. After making it many times, I have changed it a little. I mix the sauce ingredients and boil it hard for about 5 minutes before I add the chicken to thicken the sauce. I cut the chicken into small pieces and serve it with tortillas and avocado chunks - then we make margarita chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The sauce turned out really soupy, in part to the fact that I didn't add any alcohol and have a "proper" margarita mix to add. Next time I will take antoher reviewer's advice and add some cornstarch. Overall this dish is delicious. The lime taste is very worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I was very excited to try this recipe. I took other poster's suggestions and used just 2 cups margarita coctail and added about 1/4 cup tequila. I dredged the chicken in flour and grilled it in olive oil on a grill pan while bringing the sauce to a boil, then added the chicken to the sauce. It came out pretty good. I made it for company, which all complimented it. Still, I had hoped it would be a little better than it was. I will try it again after modifying a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
WAY too sweet for us. The mix was overpowering, even for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I was a little unsure of this dish, but it came out really tasty! I followed suggestions from other reviewers and browned the chicken first and used less mix than required. I added a little cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made some changes to this recipe based on some things other reviewers suggested. I also cut the margarita mix down to 2 cups. I still thought the sauce was a little too sweet. I think next time I may use 1 cup margarita mix and 1 cup chicken broth. I browned my chicken in a little olive oil before adding the sauce mix so it would have some color. Finally, once the chicken was cooked I removed it from the pan and boiled the sauce down. I will probably make this again. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States