Margarita Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I used the frozen magarita mixer you can buy in the frozen juice section and followed the directions on the can as well as the ingredients above. I let it marinade for about two hours and it was absolutely delicious! Served it with red beans and rice and corn and we will definetly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I prepared this recipe with only 2 cups of the margarita mix. I also dredged the chicken breasts in flour (with some Mrs. Dash added) before browning them in 1 tablespoon olive oil. I removed the chicken from the pan while mixing the sauce, brought the sauce to a boil, then added the chicken breasts back to the pan. The flour from the dredging helped to slightly thicken the sauce. I served the sauce in custard cups on the side for dipping. It was much sweeter than I expected it to be. The husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I changed this recipe a little (borrowing the advice of others' comments). I first marinated the chicken breasts in lime and three fresh garlic cloves. I added one packet of "sazon goya con culantro y achiote," one cup of margarita cocktail mix, one cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We enjoy this a lot. After making it many times, I have changed it a little. I mix the sauce ingredients and boil it hard for about 5 minutes before I add the chicken to thicken the sauce. I cut the chicken into small pieces and serve it with tortillas and avocado chunks - then we make margarita chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made some changes to this recipe based on some things other reviewers suggested. I also cut the margarita mix down to 2 cups. I still thought the sauce was a little too sweet. I think next time I may use 1 cup margarita mix and 1 cup chicken broth. I browned my chicken in a little olive oil before adding the sauce mix so it would have some color. Finally, once the chicken was cooked I removed it from the pan and boiled the sauce down. I will probably make this again. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The sauce turned out really soupy, in part to the fact that I didn't add any alcohol and have a "proper" margarita mix to add. Next time I will take antoher reviewer's advice and add some cornstarch. Overall this dish is delicious. The lime taste is very worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I was a little unsure of this dish, but it came out really tasty! I followed suggestions from other reviewers and browned the chicken first and used less mix than required. I added a little cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe was great, and everyone LOVED it!!! The one thing I would change would be the amount of margarita cocktail needed to make this... You really don't need all that much. When I prepared it, I marinated the chicken in the mixture and pan seared it with a bit of Mrs. Dash...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I didn't have high expectations going into this recipe as per the other reviews, but to my suprise this was actually pretty good. Perhaps the fact that when you take the chicken out of the pan it doesn't look extremely appealing to the eye was what turned others off? Whatever the case.. I think I will make this again b/c it's quick and very easy and pretty tasty. I won't change the amount of the ingredients, because the extra makes for a good sauce for dipping. The only thing I may try different next time is to brown the chicken a little before putting in the margarita mix into the skillet, to make it more brown and to make it look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I used the advice of the previous reviewers of this recipie and the chicken came out great. I browned the chicken with 1 Tbsp of olive oil, drained off the excess water, and simmered the chicken in 1/2 of the amount of margarita mix that the recipie called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States