Margarita Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I didn't have high expectations going into this recipe as per the other reviews, but to my suprise this was actually pretty good. Perhaps the fact that when you take the chicken out of the pan it doesn't look extremely appealing to the eye was what turned others off? Whatever the case.. I think I will make this again b/c it's quick and very easy and pretty tasty. I won't change the amount of the ingredients, because the extra makes for a good sauce for dipping. The only thing I may try different next time is to brown the chicken a little before putting in the margarita mix into the skillet, to make it more brown and to make it look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made some changes to this recipe based on some things other reviewers suggested. I also cut the margarita mix down to 2 cups. I still thought the sauce was a little too sweet. I think next time I may use 1 cup margarita mix and 1 cup chicken broth. I browned my chicken in a little olive oil before adding the sauce mix so it would have some color. Finally, once the chicken was cooked I removed it from the pan and boiled the sauce down. I will probably make this again. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I prepared this recipe with only 2 cups of the margarita mix. I also dredged the chicken breasts in flour (with some Mrs. Dash added) before browning them in 1 tablespoon olive oil. I removed the chicken from the pan while mixing the sauce, brought the sauce to a boil, then added the chicken breasts back to the pan. The flour from the dredging helped to slightly thicken the sauce. I served the sauce in custard cups on the side for dipping. It was much sweeter than I expected it to be. The husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe was great, and everyone LOVED it!!! The one thing I would change would be the amount of margarita cocktail needed to make this... You really don't need all that much. When I prepared it, I marinated the chicken in the mixture and pan seared it with a bit of Mrs. Dash...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I was eager to try this recipe. It was very easy, but I won't make it again. It had a very odd flavor that neither my husband or I cared for. We didn't finish eating this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I was very excited to try this recipe. I took other poster's suggestions and used just 2 cups margarita coctail and added about 1/4 cup tequila. I dredged the chicken in flour and grilled it in olive oil on a grill pan while bringing the sauce to a boil, then added the chicken to the sauce. It came out pretty good. I made it for company, which all complimented it. Still, I had hoped it would be a little better than it was. I will try it again after modifying a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I was a little unsure of this dish, but it came out really tasty! I followed suggestions from other reviewers and browned the chicken first and used less mix than required. I added a little cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Really really sweet and also really sour. Children may have a problem with the sourness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The sauce turned out really soupy, in part to the fact that I didn't add any alcohol and have a "proper" margarita mix to add. Next time I will take antoher reviewer's advice and add some cornstarch. Overall this dish is delicious. The lime taste is very worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This tasted okay, but I wasn't overly impressed. The instructions said to simmer, but I think they meant to bring the sauce to a mix first, then add the chicken and cook that for a while before just simmering. It also took 20 minutes to cook on high heat instead of the 15 the recipe said on simmer. The liquid didn't boil down to a glaze either. Most of the liquid was still left in the skillet when the chicken was finished. It was okay, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States