Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin in D-town
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This cake turned out phenomenal! I changed the recipe quite a bit, so it would be more like a margarita. I used white cake mix, and used lime juice where it called for lemon juice. I made 2 separate batches of glaze. I also used top shelf liquor; Jose Cuervo and Grand Mariner instead of triple sec. Immediately when the cake came out of the oven I poked several holes in the cake and poured a shot of tequila over it, 2tbsp of grand mariner, and poured ½ of one of the batches of glaze on it as well. After allowing the cake to cool for 15 minutes I took the cake out of the pan and glazed the cake with the other half of the first batch of glaze. Finally, about an hour later I glazed it with the 2nd batch of glaze. I made this cake for a small, Mexican cuisine themed get together at my house, everyone loved it So easy, moist, flavorful and delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin in D-town

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Made this cake for a fiesta party and every one really liked it. I only changed one thing. I am not a drinker, so I couldnt see spending $25.00 on alcohol to make a cake, when I will never use the tequilla and triple sec for anything else. So I bought the Cuervo Margarita Mini's (the come in a 4 pack for about 6 dollars) and only used one of them in place of the required amount of tequilla and triple sec and it still turned out great! Using the mini's really cut down on the cost and it didnt give it too strong of a tequilla flavor! I had to duble the amount of powdered sugar, the glaze was way too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was my first Bundt cake and was an emergency bake for an office party. I read many of the reviews and decided to use yellow cake, lemon pudding, and substituted equal parts of Bacardi non-alcoholic frozen margarita mix. I don't think the Police Department would go for the Tequila and Triple Sec. I also used the margarita mix as a substitute for the liquid in the icing - except the lime juice. Nothing beats fresh lime! The cake turned out absolutely beautiful! I added more confectioner's sugar to get a nice heavy white icing, and garnised with lime twists. It was an absolute HIT!!! The party honoree took most of the cake home before everyone could eat it up! I'm not a drinker, so my husband and I asked around about wheter it actually tasted like a Margarita. Nothing but nods of approval. This was a great alcohol free alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This cake went over huge at my last get together. Really simple to make. If you can't find orange cake mix - substitute water in recipe with OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Thank You Carol!!! I won second place in a Latin Dessert Contest! (won a free pound of expresso...) I changed a few things. I used the lemon cake and changed the juice to lime. I also added more glaze to the cake. I also found the judges licking the sides of the plate where the icing oozed. I have been instructed by my teammates to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Wow, what a great cake. I used the lemon cake also. I tinted the glaze a cool green and also used the candy lime slices as a garnish. It was so pretty. I did put a little more booze in the cake and glaze which was great for me, maybe not everyone. I took this to a mexican themed birthday party. Everyone loved it and they were licking the glaze of the plate when the cake was gone. I will make this again, and I have already given out the recipe twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Very good, but as everyone knows, you need a salted rim on a good margarita. I love the flavor of sweet and salt together (sea salt caramels, anyone? chocolated covered salted pretzels? Yum). So, to complete this recipe, which is sweet enough to be able to carry it off, I recommend you do one of two things -- sprinkle flaked kosher salt over the glaze before serving (not much is required), or, do as I did another time -- crush up pretzels very finely and scatter them on top. The sensation is quite good and fun, to boot (in fact, when I make margarita pie, I used crushed salted pretzels, sugar, and butter, to press as the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This cake was a hit at two different occasions I made it for. I could not find orange cake mix, so I substituted with white cake mix and added 1 tablespoon of grated orange rind, squeezed some juice from the orange and added 2 teaspoons of orange extract. I also made extra glaze and coated the cake again before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I made this for a friend's birthday. It was a big hit with everyone. I think it needs a bit more lime juice and thicker icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bekkah
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This cake was GREAT!! I made it with a few changes: I used Betty Crocker Super Moist French Vanilla box cake, orange juice instead of water, and lime juice instead of lemon juice. I doubled the glaze and when I took it out of the oven, I poked holes in the bottom and put about 1/2 cup of it in and let it sit for ~10 minutes, then flipped it out on a wire rack and put the 1/3 of the remaining glaze on, waited 30 min, put 1/3 more on and waited 30 more min and put the last 1/3 on. Then, after the glaze had hardened, I squeezed lime juice on the cake and sprinkled coarse salt all over it. People really loved the sweet/salty combo, I got tons of compliments on this cake. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States