Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was good, I just got more citrus flavor out of it than margarita. I will try glazing when it's cool next time...and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for my best friend's birthday, and she loved it! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and also made some changes of my own. I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used yellow and a pakage of lemon pudding mix. I also substituted lime juice for the lemon juice in the cake and margarita mix for the water. I added slightly more tequila to the batter and I also poured a shot of tequila and a half a shot of triple sec over the cake after it came out of the oven. It was so dense and moist. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Loved this recipe!!! I made it for a work - Mexican potluck; so I took the advice of other reviews and used Frozen Bacardi Margarita mix. I doubled the Frosting recipe so I could have more and I added lots more of the margarita mix to it. So it definitely tasted like a Margarita. It was a hit. Didn't bring any home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was a big hit at work today... I thought it tasted more like an orange Push-Up than a margarita though. The outside got a little dark, so I think the next round I will turn the oven down to 325 and cook a bit longer- this may be due to my oven though since it is 20+ years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I brought this to a fiesta and it went so fast I didn't even have a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Incredibly delicious! Super moist. I got rave reviews and requests for the recipe! I used the orange cake mix which I believe to be unnecessary if you cannot find it--(had to actually order it online). I did take the advice of some past reviewers: I poured one shot of tequila, 2 Tbs. Grand Marnier and 2 Tbs lime juice over the cake as soon as it came out of the oven. I let that sit a bit. I inverted the cake 10 minutes later and poured the glaze over it. I made a second batch of the glaze but added more powdered sugar to thicken it up since it is a very runny glaze. Since I juiced my own limes, (which I used instead of orange juice) I mixed the lime zest with some regular sugar and made a pretty sprinkle for the top. It added a little color and actually made the cake look like a salted margarita glass! This cake recipe will always be in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelleBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake was a hit! I couldn't find orange cake mix at my local grocer, so I substituted yellow cake mix, orange zest, and a 1/2 tsp of orange extract. Also, I substituted Grand Marnier in place of the triple sec. Topped it with lime zest and lime slices. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Richards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great cake, also had to thicken up the frosting, which was fine as the first lot soaked in and made it more margarita like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was ok. It didn't really taste like margarita's and though it tasted good, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this in 2007 as the recipe calls for (exept I used strawberry cake mix b/c thats what I had) and it turned out plesantly good. The adults thought it was a very nice cake and the kids were wishing they were adults to try it. I made this again in 2009 and I followed some of the advices in the review poll (more of this, more of that if you know what I mean). I would recommend the recipe to be followed as is. Maybe you can change the cake mix flavoring and adjust the icing to taste- I did double amount of icing both times, one for when the cake was still warm and the last before serving. PLease give this cake a try as is first. Ah! and don't use margarita mix!!! The second time it tasted somehow odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States