Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Very yummy. Like other reviews, I used lime juice instead of lemon juice, used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil, used orange juice in place of water. I used grand marnier in place of triple sec. I made cupcakes and when then came out of the oven, I poked holes in the tops and poured a little tequila on top. I had to add more powdered sugar to the glaze to thicken it up and added lime zest to that. Overall great recipes and my husband who is a margarita fan, loved them. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Nice recipe. Although I'm not sure how a margarita tastes, I would have enjoyed more lime flavor in the cake. Used a confetti cake mix for the multi-color effect and followed the changes many gave such as using all lime juice & lemon pudding. Only used 1/2 of the Grand Marnier (or Triple Sec). Added about 1/3 cup sour cream to make it heavier. Glazed it hot (poked holes in cake) right out of oven. I made sure I loosened cake so I could get it out of pan. Even so, I think the sugary glaze made it stick to the pan so next day I had to use a spatula to ease it out of pan. (I do like the idea of using a "second glaze" - maybe making a double recipe - first time right out of oven and next time after it cools.) Refrigerated it overnight in pan with glaze on it. Next day took cake out and turned it over. I made a cream cheese lime frosting with conf. sugar, juice of one lime, 1/2 pkg of cream cheese and a little cream. Spooned it over the top. Helped my sweet tooth and desire for lime flavor. Not a big fan of boxed cakes, but this came out nicely. 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Wonderful recipe but i couldnt find an orange cake mix so i used strawberry and i made the glaze thicker..wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I made this for my daughters 23rd birthday party. Everyone enjoyed it, I used margarita candles to finish it off. Very moist cake requested again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeline Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Hade this 2 times and it's SO good. I use premade margarita mix, tequilla's in it! The glaze it the best part!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bruther Matheny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is always a hit! My friend and always use strawberry cake mix. One time she could not find an orange mix, tried the strawberry, and we decided we like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this for a Memorial Day party and there was not a slice left. I did make a few changes though. I couldn't find orange cake...i used white cake and lemon pudding mix, and lime juice instead of lemon, for a more "margarita-y" taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake is tasty and easy to make. It does not, however, taste like a margarita. I haven't a clue how to make it taste that way. I used lime juice for the lemon juice, maybe I'd try adding more lime juice in place of the water, if I was inclined to make it again. I doubled the sugar in the glaze hoping to get a thick, white glaze, but it did soak into the cake and go clear on me anyway, which I did not like. So I'd add more confectioner's sugar next time, and probably omit the triple sec from the glaze so that I could keep the ratio of sour:sweet nice and even while still adding a boatload more sugar. I'd also use lemon flavored pudding next time to ramp up the cake flavoring. It's a tasty cake, but more citrus flavor is better, when you're talking margarita. P.S. I used green food coloring and the specified orange cake mix, and got a nice avocado green colored cake. Thanks for the recipe, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made 30 cupcakes instead of a bundt cake. I used white cake mix and 1/3 c Margarita mix (non-alcoholic) and 1/3 c water. I also used lime juice in the cake batter instead of lemon juice. When they came out I poked holes in each one and spread ~1/4 teaspoon of tequila over each one, then spread a little bit of the glaze. I added more powdered sugar to the glaze to thicken it, and added a few layers to each cupcake until it was white. They have quite a tequila/lime kick to them, so next time I might not use Margarita mix as a sub to water. All in all very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States