Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is always a hit! My friend and always use strawberry cake mix. One time she could not find an orange mix, tried the strawberry, and we decided we like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this for a Memorial Day party and there was not a slice left. I did make a few changes though. I couldn't find orange cake...i used white cake and lemon pudding mix, and lime juice instead of lemon, for a more "margarita-y" taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake is tasty and easy to make. It does not, however, taste like a margarita. I haven't a clue how to make it taste that way. I used lime juice for the lemon juice, maybe I'd try adding more lime juice in place of the water, if I was inclined to make it again. I doubled the sugar in the glaze hoping to get a thick, white glaze, but it did soak into the cake and go clear on me anyway, which I did not like. So I'd add more confectioner's sugar next time, and probably omit the triple sec from the glaze so that I could keep the ratio of sour:sweet nice and even while still adding a boatload more sugar. I'd also use lemon flavored pudding next time to ramp up the cake flavoring. It's a tasty cake, but more citrus flavor is better, when you're talking margarita. P.S. I used green food coloring and the specified orange cake mix, and got a nice avocado green colored cake. Thanks for the recipe, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made 30 cupcakes instead of a bundt cake. I used white cake mix and 1/3 c Margarita mix (non-alcoholic) and 1/3 c water. I also used lime juice in the cake batter instead of lemon juice. When they came out I poked holes in each one and spread ~1/4 teaspoon of tequila over each one, then spread a little bit of the glaze. I added more powdered sugar to the glaze to thicken it, and added a few layers to each cupcake until it was white. They have quite a tequila/lime kick to them, so next time I might not use Margarita mix as a sub to water. All in all very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
made this cake for a Cinco de Mayo party today at work. it turned out fantastic! extremely moist, great flavor, and really easy to make. highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I just made this last night, but I made cupcakes instead. Couldn't find orange or lemon cake mix, so I used white cake mix and lemon pudding mix, and used lime juice in place of lemon. I also used Friday's "pre-made" traditional marg mix (with tequila already included) in place of the tequila/triple sec. Finally, I subbed melted margarine for the veg oil. I got 22 big, fluffy cupcakes out of the recipe, and I baked them for only 22-24 mins. I topped with a bit of sea salt for some balance, and everyone is raving about them! Seriously, what a perfect Cinco De Mayo treat to bring in to the office!!! The icing is a little thin for what you expect on cupcakes, but it's so delicious that no one is complaining ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The first time I made this, I couldn't find the orange cake mix, so I used lemon instead, and it was amazing! I saw Orange Delight cake mix today in the store, so I am going to make it using that mix for a friends birthday. Should be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was good, I just got more citrus flavor out of it than margarita. I will try glazing when it's cool next time...and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for my best friend's birthday, and she loved it! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and also made some changes of my own. I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used yellow and a pakage of lemon pudding mix. I also substituted lime juice for the lemon juice in the cake and margarita mix for the water. I added slightly more tequila to the batter and I also poured a shot of tequila and a half a shot of triple sec over the cake after it came out of the oven. It was so dense and moist. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States