Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this cake for my bartender friend for his birthday, it was fantastic and everyone loved the flavor. I doesn't taste too much like alcohol. I used lemon cake mix instead of orange, and poured the batter in a 9x13 aluminum pan. I wanted frosting instead of a glaze so I blended together 4 cups confectioner's sugar, 1 cup shortening, 2 tbs milk and the tequila, triple sec and lime juice from the glaze recipe. I continue to make this cake for my booze loving friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've made this recipe several times for parties that I have attended. No leftovers either time. I always use lemon cake mix since I'm not a huge fan of anything orange flavored. Also, I use Cointreau instead of triple sec as that is how I like my margaritas... :) Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very good. I added orange extract and used lemon cake and lemon pudding. Used contreux and skipped tequila. Really good. Next time I might grease and flour, or cool longer than 10 min and part of my cake stuck in my greased nonstick bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outwest
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake was fantastic! Took it to a fajita/margarita party and it was a huge hit! I used a golden vanilla cake mix, orange flavored tequila and margarita mix in place of lemon juice. Also made two batches of the glaze. One as directed and poured half on the cake in the pan when it came out of the oven and the other half over the top after the 10 minutes while it was on the cooling rack. Second batch of glaze I used more confectionary sugar, less liquid and lime zest so that it would be thick enough to drizzle over the top and not absorb. Refrigerated the cake for about 2 hours. Can't say enough good things about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
yummy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fabulous!...I followed Cookin in D-town's changes and then added one of my own...I used fresh lime zest in the cake batter and glaze as well...gave it that extra zing that it needed....This has become my most requested cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This cake was awesome. I brought it to a Margarita Party with me. I used orange cake mix, vanilla pudding, silver tequilla, grand maraner, and all lime juice (no lemon). I glazed once while hot and twice after the cake cooled. Then dusted it with confectioners sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I was in two minds how to rate this cake was it 3* or 4*. I decided to rate on the positive side. I used A Duncan Hines Orange cake and the only change I made was to use apple sauce in place of the vegetable oil. I just can't see how this can be referred to as a Margarita cake. I did not read the other reviews until after, I think you would have to use a lemon cake and lemon Pudding mix and use lime juice in place of the lemon juice to get more of a Margarita taste. Nothing about this cake as written tastes like Margarita, the cake itself is orange in colour and actually does taste quite good. If anything I think it tastes like the Spanish Saville Oranges but not Margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I loved this cake. I wouldn't change a thing! I've made it for family reunions and it was a hit. Even made it for my mother-in-law and she doesn't drink....(we didn't tell her what was in it though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dysart, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake was wonderful. I did use top shelf liqour and changed the lemon juice to lime for a better margarita flavor. I made it for my husbands work party and all I brought home was an empty container... it was a huge hit! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States