Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made this recipe for Cinco De Mayo and it was such a hit that I have had it requested several times but only made it once more. The icing is more than enough for one cake so I made sugar cookies and used the KeyLime icing as decorations for the cake. I definetly give this recipe 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Awesome! It does have a strong citrus flavor but for the summer time and the mexican themed dinner I was having it was perfect. The frosting was the best part. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Konon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
SO GOOD! I really loved the flavors in both the cake and the frosting. I didn't change a thing besides making them into cupcakes and they went over really well with everyone. Decorated with Nerds candies (colorful & a little sour) and lemon zest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This cake is delicious!! I had so many rave reviews, super moist! If I had any complaints, it would be because of the moistness it fell apart easily, but who cares when its the taste that matters, and this recipe definitely did not dissapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Tastes great and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
this is delicious!!!! can't wait to make it again....how did you do the multi-color frosting...plz post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Oh yum! Since others said the recipe made a lot of frosting, I took the that part of the recipe and followed the amounts used for 8 servings. This works out to be 5 ounces cream cheese, 1/3 cup butter, 2 t. each lime peel and juice, and 3 1/3 cups powdered sugar. That was still plenty of frosting, and we thought the flavors were just perfect! Thanks, Tori for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This cake is yummy and I plan to make it again for this year's Cinco de Mayo party at our office. I only wish that people wouldn't give recipes bad ratings when they change the ingredients. The overall ratings are then skewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Made this for my sister's "Beach Theme" bridal shower. We didn't change a single thing from the recipe. I actually doubled the cake batter and made in two sizes of springform pans so I could make a layer cake. We used one batch of frosting and dyed it blue like the ocean. I got SO many compliments on the cake - on how it fit the theme, on how great it tasted and looked. Even my husband wants me to remake this. I used the frozen Bacardi Daiquiri mix (same as margarita, since the difference is the kind of alcohol). I will definitely make again - this was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were awsome only just used basic buttercream frosting tinted green. Decorated with sugar crystals and got the cutest cupcake picks (margarita glasses 3 dimentional) from www.bakerskitchen.com These were for my husbands 65th and he loves margarita's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States