Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Oh yum! Since others said the recipe made a lot of frosting, I took the that part of the recipe and followed the amounts used for 8 servings. This works out to be 5 ounces cream cheese, 1/3 cup butter, 2 t. each lime peel and juice, and 3 1/3 cups powdered sugar. That was still plenty of frosting, and we thought the flavors were just perfect! Thanks, Tori for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This cake is yummy and I plan to make it again for this year's Cinco de Mayo party at our office. I only wish that people wouldn't give recipes bad ratings when they change the ingredients. The overall ratings are then skewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe with cupcakes. I think with a little tweeking, they could be good but I ended up over baking them. I'll definitely try them again and start testing them at about 20 minutes. The icing was too thin for piping though. I tried adding more sugar which helped some but it just never seemed to get thick enough to actually pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I got raves for these cupcakes. I used zero calorie margarita mix by Baja Bob and replaced the oil with equal amounts of no sugar added apple sauce. I made my own low calorie cream cheese frosting and added a little margarita mix to it. I did not use any lime juice or lemon juice . They were awesome, making them again tonight! Not everyone at work got to try them others had 3 or 4 cupcakes them self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Thorson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this as cupcakes and went by the recipe just as written. I couldn't find the frozen Bacardi mix so I used 10 oz of Jose Cuervo Margarita Mix from a bottle we had and it worked just as well. The cupcakes only took about 15 minutes to bake. I also thought the frosting was wonderful and had just enough for the cupcakes (I don't skimp on frosting). I think using real lime zest and juice and real lemon zest make the taste so great. Everyone who ate them said they were the best cupcakes they ever had. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This cake is delicious!! I had so many rave reviews, super moist! If I had any complaints, it would be because of the moistness it fell apart easily, but who cares when its the taste that matters, and this recipe definitely did not dissapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Flavorful, moist cupcakes. Great dessert to finish off a mexican dinner. This recipe did yield me 24 cupcakes, not 12 as listed in the recipe. I made no changes, and have actually used the frosting for other cakes....it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made this recipe for Cinco De Mayo and it was such a hit that I have had it requested several times but only made it once more. The icing is more than enough for one cake so I made sugar cookies and used the KeyLime icing as decorations for the cake. I definetly give this recipe 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe the other night and they were fabulous! I substituted applesauce for the oil and put 2 oz of tequila in the cupcake batter. I also but a little of the Bacardi mix in the icing. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reeses18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Most awsome cupcake I have made in a year. So glad I gave it a try. Daughter was empressed with the moist cake, before I added the Cuervo via injetor. I made two kinds for my Birthday a doz. with tequila and a doz. without for non-drinkers. I went a little out on a limb with the tequila ones and added salt on top with a wedge of lime as garnish and just green sugar for the non alcoholic ones ,I had to use grated lime peel in the frosting because I had on lemons. The taste did not suffer. Will make again maybe for the southern round-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States