Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious HIT!!!! This frosting melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this cupcake, along with another cupcake, for a party. This cupcake, sadly, did not get eaten until AFTER the other kind of cupcake was devoured. The other cupcake was chocolate, though, and I think folks just prefer chocolate cupcakes. I liked this cupcake; it just doesn't appeal to as many people as other kinds of cupcakes. I increased the margarita mix, added lemon pudding to the batter, and decreased the sugar in the frosting. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum! Very moist cake! If you are making cupcakes, bake the day of use because they will pull away from wrappers. Frosting is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Robin Duncan Davis
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Most awsome cupcake I have made in a year. So glad I gave it a try. Daughter was empressed with the moist cake, before I added the Cuervo via injetor. I made two kinds for my Birthday a doz. with tequila and a doz. without for non-drinkers. I went a little out on a limb with the tequila ones and added salt on top with a wedge of lime as garnish and just green sugar for the non alcoholic ones ,I had to use grated lime peel in the frosting because I had on lemons. The taste did not suffer. Will make again maybe for the southern round-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
EXCELLENT!! I made it following the directions and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Disappointing. These were nothing like what I had imagined. I added 3 T. of tequila, which made the frosting very runny. I don't know what I did wrong, but won't be making these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We were a little worried that these would be too tart but they were perfect. Very rich, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
family liked these. I could not get frozen margarita mix so I just used 10 oz of premade liquid margarita mixer and it worked fine. I did not use the booze in the frosting so hubby thought they just tasted like citrus cupcakes though we did like them. I didn't use the booze in the frosting at first with kids eating them...but later added 1tb of tequila to the half batch and it was better.more like a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These cupcakes are fantastic!!!! Love them, love them, did I mention that I love them? Will definitely add this recipe to my menu for girls night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great frosting! The cake consistency was a little "off" from the margarita mix...and a little too tart. I think just the lime zest and juice would be lovely. I also agree with others, it needs the tequila to taste like a margarita...otherwise it's just citrus cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States