Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laurie Chevrette
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made 12 cupcakes with this recipe but they needed to bake about 30 - 35 minutes which is the same time as quoted for 9 x 13 cake...found that odd. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Chevrette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Lovely blend of flavors, neither frosty or cake is too overwhelming. The citrus zest is purely perfect for this lime lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made these for a New Years Eve party so I added 3 shots of tequila to the frosting. AMAZING! I can't wait to make these again. The cake was so moist and flavorful and the tequila in the frosting made it taste just like a margarita. I did have about twice as much frosting as I needed to frost the 16 cupcakes it made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Really good and I just used MOSTLY what I had on hand so people don't get upset that we rate with tweaks people need to know they can replace ingredients and I find most suggestions helpful. SO I didn't have lime so I used sweat & sour and some triple sec! I didn't make the frosting just because but I did add a little bit of sour green candy just to make it look more festive and it really worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
OMG! This is so good.......my boys just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Made this for a summer party; cake is moist, nice uniform & dense crumb, and tasty with the lime flavor; overall a fabulous easy recipe. The glaze is lovely too, BUT it overpowers the lovely flavor of the cake itself. I also added a full TBSP of tequilla which may have a bit to do with the overpowering nature of the glaze! LoL... I would highly recommend this recipe, but would switch out the glaze for a much lighter version (no cream cheese, just a simple light glaze, or even just a light dusting of plain old powdered sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband loved these. I thought they were too sweet. I used bottled Marqarita mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this for Cinco de Mayo. I made cupcakes instead (made 17) and they turned out great. Others were correct....it made a lot of icing. I think you could just use 4 cups of powdered sugar and it would be plenty. The only modificiations I made were to add 3 Tbs of lime juice to the icing instead of just 1, and to add a drop of green food coloring to the icing. Oh, and I candied some lime to put on top. They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made these a few times and people love them. I usually half the frosting recipe and use mini cupcakes. I inject them with a bit of tequila before I frost for an extra hint of margarita goodness. They bake really quick and don't turn brown just have to watch carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States