Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Made this as per the recipe (including the Tequila) for an office party on Cinco de Mayo. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Well, we'll see how it goes over at the office tomorrow. I found it to be really sweet, really rich. The frosting is amazing, though!! I added a little green food coloring. I also put it in an 8X8 pan to make a little cake and 6 cupcakes. The cake really sunk in the middle....maybe I just divided the batter into the wrong sizes. I guess if you like margaritas, you'll like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great party pleaser. Too much icing though - very sweet. But over all a winner, and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe with cupcakes. I think with a little tweeking, they could be good but I ended up over baking them. I'll definitely try them again and start testing them at about 20 minutes. The icing was too thin for piping though. I tried adding more sugar which helped some but it just never seemed to get thick enough to actually pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This cake is yummy and I plan to make it again for this year's Cinco de Mayo party at our office. I only wish that people wouldn't give recipes bad ratings when they change the ingredients. The overall ratings are then skewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Oh yum! Since others said the recipe made a lot of frosting, I took the that part of the recipe and followed the amounts used for 8 servings. This works out to be 5 ounces cream cheese, 1/3 cup butter, 2 t. each lime peel and juice, and 3 1/3 cups powdered sugar. That was still plenty of frosting, and we thought the flavors were just perfect! Thanks, Tori for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
this is delicious!!!! can't wait to make it again....how did you do the multi-color frosting...plz post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I used limeade concentrate instead of margarita mix, and maybe that ruined it. It was soooo sweet I couldn't eat more than a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Awesome! It does have a strong citrus flavor but for the summer time and the mexican themed dinner I was having it was perfect. The frosting was the best part. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Tastes great and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States