Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe the other night and they were fabulous! I substituted applesauce for the oil and put 2 oz of tequila in the cupcake batter. I also but a little of the Bacardi mix in the icing. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reeses18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Flavorful, moist cupcakes. Great dessert to finish off a mexican dinner. This recipe did yield me 24 cupcakes, not 12 as listed in the recipe. I made no changes, and have actually used the frosting for other cakes....it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
The cake was fluffy and moist, but it didn't have the "bite" of margarita, which I found disappointing. Not sure what to add to give it that...these were just citrus cupcakes in my mind. However, my husband asked for them again after he polished off the first batch, so it gets four stars instead of three. Edit: I just remade these and added tequila to the frosting. MUCH better...now they actually taste like a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
One of the few recipes where I followed the directions and it turned out perfectly. Others said it made too much icing, but I used a large or extra large 1m Wilton tip on cupcakes and had just enough. Follow he directions and you will not be disapointed. I couldn't find the frozen mix but bought a mix that already contained the tequilla and skipped the thawing stage and it worked out perfectly. I garnished each cupcake with a lime wedge and sugar crystals and bendy straw. It was too cute! Thanks for an amazing recipe! The taste was light but it was there, not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenslayton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This rating is just for the frosting. This frosting is AMAZING!!! I put it on a lemon cake a while ago and it was a fabulous lemon-lime mix. I froze the extra frosting and it still had the smooth texture--I halved the frosting recipe and integrated that into my stored portion with amazing results! This frosting is not too sweet; it's a wonderful mix of tangy and sweet. It is my go-to frosting now for vanilla or non-chocolate cakes. Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Try it with frozen limeade & marachino cherry juice! I call them cherry limeade cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very good, I used regular buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made these for my boyfriend's birthday since he loves margaritas. Turned out great! I couldn't find any frozen margarita mix, so I just used a blend of some pre-made mix with alcohol in it and frozen limeade concentrate. No problems with consistency of cake or frosting. I made cupcakes and there was extra frosting left over, but I still wouldn't change the amounts since I don't need a chunk of left over cream cheese sitting around. I topped with decorator sugar to look like salt and a small lime wedge. Super cute and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Wonderful. Used Patron in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were awsome only just used basic buttercream frosting tinted green. Decorated with sugar crystals and got the cutest cupcake picks (margarita glasses 3 dimentional) from www.bakerskitchen.com These were for my husbands 65th and he loves margarita's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States