Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I did adjust the frosting by adding 1 TBLS.tequila,1 TBLS. trple sec. and upped the lime juice to 2 TBLS. and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
absolutely PERFECT! I made cupcakes with the recipe and didn't change a thing. I did beat the eggs whites separately and then add to the batter. I made a lime butter cream frosting because they were for an outdoor party and I didn't want cream cheese in the sun. The lime buttercream was delicious with this cake. Unfortunately, I don't measure, but I did use 2 sticks of butter, 2 tsp vanilla, the juice of two limes and then added powdered sugar until I got the taste and consistency I wanted. I added a little green food color and used crystalized sugar around the edge to give it a 'salted margarita" look and added a small wedge of fresh lime. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made them as is, took them to a party, and they did not go over well. They were very heavy in texture and over the top sweet. I won't be making them again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious HIT!!!! This frosting melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this cupcake, along with another cupcake, for a party. This cupcake, sadly, did not get eaten until AFTER the other kind of cupcake was devoured. The other cupcake was chocolate, though, and I think folks just prefer chocolate cupcakes. I liked this cupcake; it just doesn't appeal to as many people as other kinds of cupcakes. I increased the margarita mix, added lemon pudding to the batter, and decreased the sugar in the frosting. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum! Very moist cake! If you are making cupcakes, bake the day of use because they will pull away from wrappers. Frosting is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Robin Duncan Davis
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Most awsome cupcake I have made in a year. So glad I gave it a try. Daughter was empressed with the moist cake, before I added the Cuervo via injetor. I made two kinds for my Birthday a doz. with tequila and a doz. without for non-drinkers. I went a little out on a limb with the tequila ones and added salt on top with a wedge of lime as garnish and just green sugar for the non alcoholic ones ,I had to use grated lime peel in the frosting because I had on lemons. The taste did not suffer. Will make again maybe for the southern round-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
EXCELLENT!! I made it following the directions and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Disappointing. These were nothing like what I had imagined. I added 3 T. of tequila, which made the frosting very runny. I don't know what I did wrong, but won't be making these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We were a little worried that these would be too tart but they were perfect. Very rich, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States