Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Made this recipe today as cupcakes, they are delicious! I added 2 oz of tequila to the frosting so I had to add about 2 more cups of powdered sugar but I think the tequila made them true margarita cupcakes. Definitely will make these again. I added sugar crystals, lime slice and a straw to decorate them, very cute and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I just finished making these cupcakes for a Mexican theme party tonight and I had to give one a try first. OMG, they are fabulous! I followed the recipe except I used tequila in place of lime juice in the cake batter. I also used tequila in the frosting. Is was the perfect consistency and amount of frosting for 24 cupcakes. Everything is so delicious I can hardly wait to take them for everyone to enjoy. Thanks, Tori, for a great recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wow. Wow..Wow.. These are absolutely amazing.. the zest really sets it off.. I did use Key Lime Juice instead of regular Lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Fun to make and decorate, and fun to eat too. Tart and sweet both, and very tropical, citrusy tasting. I was a little non-believing about the small amount of oil, especially with no egg yolks in the batter, but it worked. I backed off to four cups with the powdered sugar and I was happy with that. Creative and a sure "conversation cupcake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I did adjust the frosting by adding 1 TBLS.tequila,1 TBLS. trple sec. and upped the lime juice to 2 TBLS. and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
absolutely PERFECT! I made cupcakes with the recipe and didn't change a thing. I did beat the eggs whites separately and then add to the batter. I made a lime butter cream frosting because they were for an outdoor party and I didn't want cream cheese in the sun. The lime buttercream was delicious with this cake. Unfortunately, I don't measure, but I did use 2 sticks of butter, 2 tsp vanilla, the juice of two limes and then added powdered sugar until I got the taste and consistency I wanted. I added a little green food color and used crystalized sugar around the edge to give it a 'salted margarita" look and added a small wedge of fresh lime. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made them as is, took them to a party, and they did not go over well. They were very heavy in texture and over the top sweet. I won't be making them again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious HIT!!!! This frosting melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this cupcake, along with another cupcake, for a party. This cupcake, sadly, did not get eaten until AFTER the other kind of cupcake was devoured. The other cupcake was chocolate, though, and I think folks just prefer chocolate cupcakes. I liked this cupcake; it just doesn't appeal to as many people as other kinds of cupcakes. I increased the margarita mix, added lemon pudding to the batter, and decreased the sugar in the frosting. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum! Very moist cake! If you are making cupcakes, bake the day of use because they will pull away from wrappers. Frosting is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States