Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Made it for a Mexican theme party, huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I made this for a gathering tonight and it was very well received. I used lemon zest from a bottle, which was fine for the cake, but not a good idea for the icing as it gave it a slightly strange texture, so in the future I would make my own zest. When I was about to add the egg whites, it seemed strange to just pour them in, so I beat them first, somewhere between frothy and soft peaks. This gave the cake an almost angelfood texture that was very good. Excellent recipe and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Everyone but me loved this cake. I made it into cupcakes exactly as written and they were perfectly done in 18 minutes. I added extra lemon zest to the frosting because you can never have too much lemon. My only complaint was the texture of the cake. It was just "off", kinda gummy even though fully baked. But no one but me seemed to notice. So 3 stars from me and 5 stars from everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skiing914
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I just made this recipe (cupcakes) for the first time and I WILL be making it again several times this summer! The cupcakes were to die for and so easy to make pretty. I attached a picture. They looked and tasted gourmet and everyone loved them! My only thing was, the recipe did not make 24 cupcakes. I only got 18 and I didn't overfill them. Next time, I will double the recipe. Also, the cream cheese frosting is delicious, however, they shouldn't call it "key lime" since key lime juice (which is different from regular lime) is not used. For decoration, I used a thin, half slice of lime, a pinch of coconut and lime colored sugar sprinkles on top. Beautiful if I do say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Made this recipe today as cupcakes, they are delicious! I added 2 oz of tequila to the frosting so I had to add about 2 more cups of powdered sugar but I think the tequila made them true margarita cupcakes. Definitely will make these again. I added sugar crystals, lime slice and a straw to decorate them, very cute and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I just finished making these cupcakes for a Mexican theme party tonight and I had to give one a try first. OMG, they are fabulous! I followed the recipe except I used tequila in place of lime juice in the cake batter. I also used tequila in the frosting. Is was the perfect consistency and amount of frosting for 24 cupcakes. Everything is so delicious I can hardly wait to take them for everyone to enjoy. Thanks, Tori, for a great recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wow. Wow..Wow.. These are absolutely amazing.. the zest really sets it off.. I did use Key Lime Juice instead of regular Lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Fun to make and decorate, and fun to eat too. Tart and sweet both, and very tropical, citrusy tasting. I was a little non-believing about the small amount of oil, especially with no egg yolks in the batter, but it worked. I backed off to four cups with the powdered sugar and I was happy with that. Creative and a sure "conversation cupcake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I did adjust the frosting by adding 1 TBLS.tequila,1 TBLS. trple sec. and upped the lime juice to 2 TBLS. and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
absolutely PERFECT! I made cupcakes with the recipe and didn't change a thing. I did beat the eggs whites separately and then add to the batter. I made a lime butter cream frosting because they were for an outdoor party and I didn't want cream cheese in the sun. The lime buttercream was delicious with this cake. Unfortunately, I don't measure, but I did use 2 sticks of butter, 2 tsp vanilla, the juice of two limes and then added powdered sugar until I got the taste and consistency I wanted. I added a little green food color and used crystalized sugar around the edge to give it a 'salted margarita" look and added a small wedge of fresh lime. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States