Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I generally *love* sweet things...but this pie was way too sweet and way too rich. My boyfriend agreed and said that it reminded him of fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum!! This is delicious. I used about 1/3 cup cocoa and only approx 1 cup sugar, per some previous review suggestions. I also didn't have any evaporated milk, so I just used about 10 oz of 1% milk instead. It worked out great! I just kept cooking and stirring until it was very thick and fudge-like. Wonderful chocolate pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
A very sinfully delicious pie.. Hint: The longer you cook the filling, the thicker and fudgier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and it received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This pie was good and easy to make. We found it a little too sweet. I think next time i will cut out 1/3 of the sugar. Definately a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is how a good ole chocolate pie should taste like. Nice and thick, so when it's cut it won't run. The flavor was awesome and it was so simple to make. Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I used Splenda and shouldn't have. Chocolate pie is supposed to be sweet and would have been with real sugar! I added some chocolate chips for flavor, reduced the egg yolk to 2 and my husband liked it, but next time I'll sacrifice the calories for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Byrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This pie was awesome. My mom has traditionally made chocolate pies every year at Christmas. This year, I made the pies, and I used this recipe. After tasting it, my mom asked me for the recipe! Great recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I actually made a double recipe of this pie using Splenda instead of sugar and even the meringue turned out great. I think my Dad ate the pie in less than one day and then wanted the recipe. One thing I learned (and maybe it's just the case with Splenda substituted) is that using a nonstick skillet is much better than a saucepan. Even with me constantly stirring, it scorched on two different pans and then did great when I finally moved to the nonstick pan. One note: If you are subbing Splenda for sugar, you may wish to reduce the Splenda amount slightly from what is called for in sugar quantity - Splenda tends to turn out a little sweeter than sugar. Great recipe - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I did not care for this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States