Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was looking for a chocolate pie that didn't use cool whip or pudding and this was great. My butter (???) oozed out of the filling though and just sat around the edges of the crust. It was yummy anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is not a recipe for first-time bakers. If you have never made meringue before, then take some time to look up tips (for example the glass bowl is a must). Also, if you have never made a chocolate cake before then note that you should mix your dry ingredients first, stir constantly, and be patient with the mixture getting thick. As someone who has never made chocolate pie before I found the recipe a bit vague. My first pie did not set because I didn't allow the chocolate mixture to thicken enough, but the second one was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious! I love how it uses inexpensive ingredients that I already have in my pantry. The chocolate taste is just right, not too sweet and not too bitter either. Everyone who tasted this pie raved about it! I did not prepare the meringue topping, just topped it with whipped cream instead. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this for Christmas. My meringue shrank quite a bit. You should perhaps make the meringue before the filling is done.. The filling was delicious, but perhaps I didn't cook it long enough, because it was not as firm as I would have preferred. Delicious flavors, but not great set up. It could be my lack of experience though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent Thanksgiving treat! The only change I made was to use Splenda Blend instead of sugar, following the conversion chart on the Splenda bag for amount to equal 1 1/3 cup regular sugar. Well, I also went the Cool Whip route instead of meringue based on preference of my "audience," but the chocolate base of this recipe is fantastic. My only qualm was that the recipe gives no indication of time needed to thicken the chocolate mix or bake. I estimated that it took 6-7 minutes for the chocolate to thicken, and I didn't bake for more than 15 minutes (had no meringue to brown so no real visual cue for when it was done). Another reviewer had an excellent tip, to use a handmixer to mix in the butter and really smooth out the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I tried out this recipe with no modifications. When I cooked the pie filling in a saucepan, I stirred constantly, cooked it on a medium-low flame and achieved a beautiful non-lumpy mixture. I had no problems with the meringue (although 6TB sugar is way way too sweet, 3 or 4 will be much better). The problem is, the pie never set. It baked about 20 or 25 min at 325 and even though I knew it was still liquid, the meringue was clearly done. The pie filling itself is way too sweet, even for my sweet tooth. Honestly, just too much sugar. I'm not going to give up on it though. Next time, I'm going to 1) cut back on the sugar both on the meringue and the pie filling and 2) use cornstarch to thicken the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I have made this twice now,the second time I added a teaspoon of vanilla flavoring which enhanced the chocolate flavor.Either way,it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe but I doubled the cocoa, added a heaping tablespoon flour and 1 cup water since it was too sweet for my taste. Also a pinch of salt increased the flavor. With these changes it made 2 pies (not deep dish)and was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Whoever gives this pie less than 5 stars has made a mistake in preparing the pie. The texture is creamy and it is not too sweet. I have been searching for years for a recipe that would rival my mothers'cooks recipe and I have finally found it. The only exception is that Mom's cook used REAL whipped cream (not sweetened with any sugar) instead of meringue.OUTSTANDING. Also,be prepared to sit or stand awhile and stir the filling on the stove while it thickens up. Towards the end you might want to have a whisk handy to avoid any lumps.THIS IS A TRUE SOUTHERN RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great pie. I've been trying to find a recipe like my mother-in-law's thick fudgy chocolate pies. This one is GREAT. Beautiful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States