Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is the best chocolate pie ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was my first chocolate pie. I thought it was very easy to prepare. I cooked the filling till it was almost like frosting. The sweetness was perfect, however I would cook the filling a little less then I did unless you like it more like fudge. I used whipped cream instead of Meringue, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I tried stirring with a wooden spoon but that didn't seem to work at all. I switched to a flat silicone wisk and that worked beautifully. It took about 5 min. for it to cook and thicken. Next time I will let the pie sit in the fridge for a hour or more before adding the meringue, so that it firms up a bit. I've used my grandmother's recipe forever, and this beats it! It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
By far the best chocolate pie I have ever tasted! Course you have to let it cool off before cutting...LOL I couldn't! If your making a deep dish you need to add more ingredients. Well worth making and will time after time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Perhaps it was my mistake on the merengue, but the pie seemed overly sweet and the texture wasn't meltable in the mouth. It was fun to make though. Not a big hit at the T-giving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is woefully incomplete. I believe a step is missing, because the merengue browned WAY before the filling was set. It also doesn't say how long it's supposed to cool or whether it's supposed to be chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoiseBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was really great!! It was the first pie that I had ever made from scratch, and it turned out perfect. It had that old school chocolate pie taste that I had been longing for. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Chocolate pie has always been my kryptonite, until I found this recipe. Now my chocolate pies come out as good as my grandma's use to. I've never been happier with a recipe. This is one I will keep forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I really liked this. The filling was a little sweet IMO, but all in all a great recipe and easy, too. I thought it "finally" set once it hit the fridge overnight, and was even thicker on day two (small household), but I didn't think it was thick enough after being made and cooled on a wire rack. It's a plan ahead deal. I have always LOVED chocolate pie and this was my first attempt at making it. I would use this recipe again and would also still continue to try others. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Best chocolate pie I've ever made! I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as someone suggested....1 added 1 Tbl spoon of marshallow cream to the meringue which I was taught by a lady at Church. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States