Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I haven't tried this but was reading the recipe and reviews. The recipe is just like the one I always use. The problem with lumps will be resolved if you mix the sugar, flour and cocoa well then add the milk. I cook that mixture until it boils and then add a little of the hot mixture to the egg yolks stirring well to "temper the yolks" Do this a couple of times, then add the yolk mixture to the pudding mixture in the pan. Let boil for a few more minutes and then remove from the stove, add butter, stir well and cool before adding to pie shell. I always add 2 tsp of vanilla with the butter. Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I think I will be making this without the egg yolks in it not really necessary with the flour to thicken and that would cut down on the fat content..I also like to use powdered whites they hold up better than real ones, and you don't have "sweat" like the real ones do sometimes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannyknits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Just as good as my Aunt Mary's! Gloria, one person, in their picture, decided to use marshmallows, instead of meringue. See the five other pictures. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
PHENOMENAL. My husband loves his mom's version, but I made this one for his birthday and it blew hers away ;-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is the best chocolate pie ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was my first chocolate pie. I thought it was very easy to prepare. I cooked the filling till it was almost like frosting. The sweetness was perfect, however I would cook the filling a little less then I did unless you like it more like fudge. I used whipped cream instead of Meringue, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I tried stirring with a wooden spoon but that didn't seem to work at all. I switched to a flat silicone wisk and that worked beautifully. It took about 5 min. for it to cook and thicken. Next time I will let the pie sit in the fridge for a hour or more before adding the meringue, so that it firms up a bit. I've used my grandmother's recipe forever, and this beats it! It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
By far the best chocolate pie I have ever tasted! Course you have to let it cool off before cutting...LOL I couldn't! If your making a deep dish you need to add more ingredients. Well worth making and will time after time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Perhaps it was my mistake on the merengue, but the pie seemed overly sweet and the texture wasn't meltable in the mouth. It was fun to make though. Not a big hit at the T-giving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is woefully incomplete. I believe a step is missing, because the merengue browned WAY before the filling was set. It also doesn't say how long it's supposed to cool or whether it's supposed to be chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoiseBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States