Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
The pie is really easy to make with ingredients already on hand. It is so fudgey tasting and certainly recommend this. I have never had meringue turn out so we used Lite Cool Whip instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Fantastic recipe!! My family raved about it. I, however, am the only one in my family that likes meringue so I used Dream Whip on top. It is very rich and creamy and I will never use another recipe again. Thanks Becky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robinson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palestine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I have not tried this recipe because I know how good it is. This is the way my mother always made chocolate pie. It is absolutely my most favorite pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I haven't tried this but was reading the recipe and reviews. The recipe is just like the one I always use. The problem with lumps will be resolved if you mix the sugar, flour and cocoa well then add the milk. I cook that mixture until it boils and then add a little of the hot mixture to the egg yolks stirring well to "temper the yolks" Do this a couple of times, then add the yolk mixture to the pudding mixture in the pan. Let boil for a few more minutes and then remove from the stove, add butter, stir well and cool before adding to pie shell. I always add 2 tsp of vanilla with the butter. Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I think I will be making this without the egg yolks in it not really necessary with the flour to thicken and that would cut down on the fat content..I also like to use powdered whites they hold up better than real ones, and you don't have "sweat" like the real ones do sometimes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannyknits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Just as good as my Aunt Mary's! Gloria, one person, in their picture, decided to use marshmallows, instead of meringue. See the five other pictures. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
PHENOMENAL. My husband loves his mom's version, but I made this one for his birthday and it blew hers away ;-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is the best chocolate pie ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was my first chocolate pie. I thought it was very easy to prepare. I cooked the filling till it was almost like frosting. The sweetness was perfect, however I would cook the filling a little less then I did unless you like it more like fudge. I used whipped cream instead of Meringue, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I tried stirring with a wooden spoon but that didn't seem to work at all. I switched to a flat silicone wisk and that worked beautifully. It took about 5 min. for it to cook and thicken. Next time I will let the pie sit in the fridge for a hour or more before adding the meringue, so that it firms up a bit. I've used my grandmother's recipe forever, and this beats it! It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States