Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
They were good, I made the yogurt sauce for them and they were good. I did use just Turkey and baked them for 30 minutes at 375. Very good and healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Used 2 tsp of chopped fresh mint instead of the dried. Loved the way the strong flavor of the lamb was diluted with the beef. Wonderful. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used this to make Gyro's for dinner. I took the advice of the other's reviews and used only 2 eggs, didn't use the flour and baked them at 350 for 45 mins. I also omitted the mint. I made a cucumber sauce (Easy Greek Yogurt Cucumber Sauce also on this site) and cut the meat balls in half before adding them to the pita bread. Everyone ate and loved them!!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was part of our "dippable dinner" night. I used whole wheat bread instead of white. I also let this meatball mixture sit for 20 minutes before forming it into the meatballs. We really liked these--especially the boys, which really surprized me. They ate a lot, they loved dipping it in the tzatziki sauce with the homemade pita chips. HUGE hit. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
It's a 5 with changes. I used 2 eggs and although it set with cooking, the mixture was very difficult to form into meatballs, so next time will use 1. Also added more salt. Everyone loved them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Way too much dried mint. I followed the correct portions. A lot of people used Greek seasoning instead, I should have too! It was also super wet :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My father taught me how to make these when I was very young and this recipe was pretty close to his. I used one less egg and added a shot of ouzo to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ream
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
so good! i doubled the bread, milk, garlic, and onions. only put in 2 eggs.... i flattened them coz i was worried they wont be cooked from the inside.. turned out great! used the leftovers in pasta with cream sauce! i experimented with a few in the oven, but the fried ones were so much better !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought they were great, but husband thought they were alright, so will average them at a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We purchased a lamb at a local fair. Not knowing what to do with it, I found this recipe. My family was very impressed and so was I. I wasn't sure about the mint, but (oh my) it was delicious. I made a cucumber sauce and we ate it on rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States