Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe with all ground beef as I had no lamb. The texture was good, but the flavor was too mild. I used 2 cloves of garlic, one onion, and fresh mint instead of dried. I also only used one egg as I added a bit too much milk to my Italian breadcrumbs(substitution).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB in NC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These were delish! They were moist & very flavorful. I served them in pitas with tzatziki and a Greek salad of red leaf lettuce, tomatoes, feta, kalamata olives, capers & vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I thought this was delicious! I made it almost exactly as written. I used ground venison since I had it on hand and it also has a slightly tangy flavor. And I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil. The end result wasn't greasy at all (in fact I think there was more grease when I was done than when I started). I served this with a slightly butchered tzatziki sauce since my husband hates cucumber, but it was amazing! I will definitely be adding this dish to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Way too wet. WAY too wet. I had trouble forming the balls by hand -- in fact, I only used 1 egg and stale bread, and it was STILL too soft and runny. I did these in the oven (took 40 minutes for 1.5 inch cookie scoop meatballs at 350 so I would cook them higher temp if I were you). The volume of liquid I had from the onion and whatever else was so wet would probably have gone SO badly for me if I'd tried to drop these in hot oil. Glad I did not. DH liked them a lot, I couldn't even finish one with tzatziki and a pita. Too soft, and too much dried mint for me. I'm sure these are plenty authentic, and like I said my DH (and my 10 month old) liked them a lot -- this just wasn't for me. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made these for a friend of mine who's yiayia came over from greece to ellis island. He is helpful at making suggestions to make things taste better. All he said as he was eating them was "these are good!" He told me yia yia put these meatballs in a bread sack for his bus trip home from phoenix, where she lived, and they were good. So, I would say that these would have yia yia's approval! Great recipe!! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam2oona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Great recipe....thank you for posting this. I used 1.5 pounds of lean ground lamb and the same of lean ground beef......used 5 eggs, added some panko as well as the bread. In terms of seasoning, I really felt that they needed some Greek seasoning so I made a mixture (from this site) and added it sparingly . Delicious and this was my first "go" at Keftedes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Yummy! These were so delicious and everybody ate them (picky hubby, 5 year old, 15 month old and me!). I used 1 pound of ground beef since our commissary doesn't carry lamb, and only 2 eggs. I also played with the seasonings a bit, used more mint, parsley, oregano and marjoram. I baked them in the oven and served them on pitas with tzatziki sauce, sliced tomatoes, olives, and feta cheese. We will definitely be having these again, thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My favorite meal! Only used one egg, used bread crumbs instead of bread but have made it with the bread, I just find the bread crumbs easier. I also use a pound of lamb and 1/2 pound of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This recipe looks so much easier than others I have seen. I am looking forward to trying it. Interesting, my grandmother was also from Kyparissi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wonderful - I love authentic redipes such as this. Because my computer was down a while tonight i made something very similar off top of head: used 1 pd. ground beef, 1 pound ground lamb, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp saffron. 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1/2 diced red onioon and 4 minced garlic cloves. Baked in 375 oven for 45 minutes. heavenly and yummy result. Served in Pita Bread with Hummus and olives and greens and tomatoes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States