Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great served with a yogert/cucumber sauce on pita bread. I replaced the dried mint with McCormick's Greek Seasoning and it turned out fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
delish!!, 2 white bread, shred onion into the mixture,omit mint and add greek seasoning,1 egg all otherr ingrediants the same. and don't fry bake at 350 for 30 miniutes, turning half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttuhy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great recipe and very simple. I used 1/2 turkey and 1/2 beef (just what I usually have on hand), wheat bread and about 1 1/2 the amount of salt, but used half the eggs. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My entire family loved these! I made them with 3 lbs of turkey, and adjusted the bread/egg accordingly, and they were fantastic. The mint flavor was strong, but wonderful. I was suspicious at first because they seemed as though they wouldn't hold together well, but after cooking they were firm and moist (I browned them in a pan first, and then baked them for 30 min at 375F). Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
The store didn't have ground lamb and so I made it with ground beef and it was excellent. I'm making them again for a dinner party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
We liked these. I think the only change I made was, I did't dredge in flour in fry. I just baked them at 350* for about 30 min., and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
simple and tasty, I had it with some pita bread and tzatziki and lemon parsley potatoes with garlic. Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
a few changes: 2 pieces of bread; one egg is fine. (Try with one egg first and you'll understand that 4 is not needed, it would be WAY too much.) Still needed to add some Progresso bread crumbs. I added Greek seasoning instead of salt and pepper and a pound of beef, not lamb. Put in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes and was pleased with the result. Cold leftovers are good too! 5 stars from a Greek ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The only alterations to the recipe were to use a pound each of the lamb and beef, and to reduce the number of eggs to 2. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good - used them in gyros. For those reviews that said it was too wet - you HAVE TO ROLL THEM IN FLOUR!! They are very wet, but will form a sloppy ball that needs to be rolled in flour. They will hold their shape as you fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States