Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a great recipe but I made a few changes to suit our tastes. First it is very important to soak the milk in bread as suggested. Also, make sure to grate the onion right into the bowl so you can integrate the juice from the grated onion. I used a generous amount of parsely instead of the mint. I skipped dredging in flour and instead used olive oil for health purposes. These are a hit every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was part of our "dippable dinner" night. I used whole wheat bread instead of white. I also let this meatball mixture sit for 20 minutes before forming it into the meatballs. We really liked these--especially the boys, which really surprized me. They ate a lot, they loved dipping it in the tzatziki sauce with the homemade pita chips. HUGE hit. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The only alterations to the recipe were to use a pound each of the lamb and beef, and to reduce the number of eggs to 2. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
delish!!, 2 white bread, shred onion into the mixture,omit mint and add greek seasoning,1 egg all otherr ingrediants the same. and don't fry bake at 350 for 30 miniutes, turning half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttuhy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this with 3 slices of white bread, and it was pretty sloppy; I added just one large egg to bind the mixture but it was so wet I had to throw in some breadcrumbs (maybe half a cup). We enjoyed them but I would add more salt next time. I served them in pitas with lettuce, tomatoes, onion and a yogurt/Ranch/garlic powder dressing. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
We really liked these meatballs. Based on other reviewers advice I cut the amount of egg in half. Also, I cut the amount of mint in half. My mint was home dried and strong. I served the meatballs on pita bread using the yogurt sauce recipe from the "warm greek pita sandwiches with cucumber yogurt sauce" recipe on this site. We will make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Cut the number of eggs to one or two for a pound of meat. For an easier alternate, instead of frying, try baking them in a greased cassarole dish at 350 (without rolling them in flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy the Greek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very Tasty! We had a Greek themed dinner party and made these for the appetizer. The meatball mixture wasn't very firm so before rolling into balls, we doubled the amount of bread crumbs and chilled in the freezer Which helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These are really good. I'm giving them four stars because I changed several things. I used all ground beef, plus fresh mint and also added some fresh marjarom, since I had it. For the bread I used some herbed black olive bread that I had on hand, and I only used one egg for about a pound of meat. I started soaking the bread in the milk, then threw it in the food processor along with the salt and pepper, herbs, and garlic. This made a little bread 'paste' that I then added to the meat with the egg. I used about a teaspoon of salt for one pound of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great served with a yogert/cucumber sauce on pita bread. I replaced the dried mint with McCormick's Greek Seasoning and it turned out fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States