Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very Tasty! We had a Greek themed dinner party and made these for the appetizer. The meatball mixture wasn't very firm so before rolling into balls, we doubled the amount of bread crumbs and chilled in the freezer Which helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this with 3 slices of white bread, and it was pretty sloppy; I added just one large egg to bind the mixture but it was so wet I had to throw in some breadcrumbs (maybe half a cup). We enjoyed them but I would add more salt next time. I served them in pitas with lettuce, tomatoes, onion and a yogurt/Ranch/garlic powder dressing. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The only alterations to the recipe were to use a pound each of the lamb and beef, and to reduce the number of eggs to 2. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great recipe and very simple. I used 1/2 turkey and 1/2 beef (just what I usually have on hand), wheat bread and about 1 1/2 the amount of salt, but used half the eggs. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Needs more salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
The store didn't have ground lamb and so I made it with ground beef and it was excellent. I'm making them again for a dinner party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great served with a yogert/cucumber sauce on pita bread. I replaced the dried mint with McCormick's Greek Seasoning and it turned out fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a great recipe but I made a few changes to suit our tastes. First it is very important to soak the milk in bread as suggested. Also, make sure to grate the onion right into the bowl so you can integrate the juice from the grated onion. I used a generous amount of parsely instead of the mint. I skipped dredging in flour and instead used olive oil for health purposes. These are a hit every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
added a touch of worcestershire sauce to added a little extra flavor found it very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
We liked these. I think the only change I made was, I did't dredge in flour in fry. I just baked them at 350* for about 30 min., and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States