Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These are really good. I'm giving them four stars because I changed several things. I used all ground beef, plus fresh mint and also added some fresh marjarom, since I had it. For the bread I used some herbed black olive bread that I had on hand, and I only used one egg for about a pound of meat. I started soaking the bread in the milk, then threw it in the food processor along with the salt and pepper, herbs, and garlic. This made a little bread 'paste' that I then added to the meat with the egg. I used about a teaspoon of salt for one pound of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My entire family loved these! I made them with 3 lbs of turkey, and adjusted the bread/egg accordingly, and they were fantastic. The mint flavor was strong, but wonderful. I was suspicious at first because they seemed as though they wouldn't hold together well, but after cooking they were firm and moist (I browned them in a pan first, and then baked them for 30 min at 375F). Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
We really liked these meatballs. Based on other reviewers advice I cut the amount of egg in half. Also, I cut the amount of mint in half. My mint was home dried and strong. I served the meatballs on pita bread using the yogurt sauce recipe from the "warm greek pita sandwiches with cucumber yogurt sauce" recipe on this site. We will make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
We liked these. I think the only change I made was, I did't dredge in flour in fry. I just baked them at 350* for about 30 min., and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
added a touch of worcestershire sauce to added a little extra flavor found it very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a great recipe but I made a few changes to suit our tastes. First it is very important to soak the milk in bread as suggested. Also, make sure to grate the onion right into the bowl so you can integrate the juice from the grated onion. I used a generous amount of parsely instead of the mint. I skipped dredging in flour and instead used olive oil for health purposes. These are a hit every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great served with a yogert/cucumber sauce on pita bread. I replaced the dried mint with McCormick's Greek Seasoning and it turned out fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
The store didn't have ground lamb and so I made it with ground beef and it was excellent. I'm making them again for a dinner party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Needs more salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great recipe and very simple. I used 1/2 turkey and 1/2 beef (just what I usually have on hand), wheat bread and about 1 1/2 the amount of salt, but used half the eggs. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States