Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
All the reviews I read were right- delicious, but too sloppy as the recipe reads. Use only 2 eggs and you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
delish!!, 2 white bread, shred onion into the mixture,omit mint and add greek seasoning,1 egg all otherr ingrediants the same. and don't fry bake at 350 for 30 miniutes, turning half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttuhy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
a few changes: 2 pieces of bread; one egg is fine. (Try with one egg first and you'll understand that 4 is not needed, it would be WAY too much.) Still needed to add some Progresso bread crumbs. I added Greek seasoning instead of salt and pepper and a pound of beef, not lamb. Put in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes and was pleased with the result. Cold leftovers are good too! 5 stars from a Greek ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good - used them in gyros. For those reviews that said it was too wet - you HAVE TO ROLL THEM IN FLOUR!! They are very wet, but will form a sloppy ball that needs to be rolled in flour. They will hold their shape as you fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These were really good. Used fresh mint, reduced eggs to 2 and increased meat to 1 lb. each. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
simple and tasty, I had it with some pita bread and tzatziki and lemon parsley potatoes with garlic. Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this was ok but next time I will be adding feta cheese and fresh mint and then grilling them on my gas grill with my meatball grilling device
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Cut the number of eggs to one or two for a pound of meat. For an easier alternate, instead of frying, try baking them in a greased cassarole dish at 350 (without rolling them in flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy the Greek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I served this at our dinner club and it was a hit. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and only used 1 egg. That was great. I changed the meat combo to a mixture of beef,pork and veal. Loved it served with crispy pitas and tzatziki sauce. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Really good but I will give it a 4 star rating as well since I used half the eggs like others recommended and still had to add more bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States