Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe turned out beautifully and was well received by my children's classmates! A few notes of caution to those who rated it as "too dry" - that is operator error, not recipe error (sorry!) Follow the instructions PRECISELY. You must ensure that the yeast is dissolved in the right temperature of water for at least 10 minutes. You'll know that it's proper when it appears to be foamy on top. You also have to ensure that you scald the milk properly - don't let it boil and stir it constantly. These two factors will greatly decrease your chances of having a dry cake. Oil the dough as directed too and another tip - when you remove the cakes from the oven, ice them and immediately cover them with aluminum foil to keep in the moisture (unless you are serving it right away). Also - if you don't like raisins or nuts - this recipe allows for other fillings (though we love the raisins, cinnamon and brown sugar!) Now - no more nay sayers and bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I cut nutmeg in half, made a bit more filling, and baked at 335 for 25 minutes. Used canned cream cheese frosting & colored sugar i bought. They were great. I also made some with a strawberry cream cheese filling: 1 brick cream cheese, 1/2 c powder sugar, and 1 cup diced fresh strawberry. Those were better!! But I'm not sure how many days those should stay at room temp. It seems the cheese would spoil so we ate those first. Tips, I cut off excess dough around edge before rolling. When making the ring, I sealed & made it prettier with a twisted ring of excess dough and put the baby there after baking. Oh and you can also divide dough in 4 and make smaller loaves if u like. Just bake 2 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this was ok, but more bready than king cake should be. king cake is fluffier and more pastry like. the filling is fine. if you are looking for authentic style king cake, i wouldn't go for this one. true, king cake recipes vary depending on region of Louisiana and family, but this one is not at all to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is a very good, easy to follow recipe. The only ingredient changes I made were omitting raisins (not an authentic king cake addition) and a slight reduction in the nutmeg (I used regular ground), which I am glad I did. I did bake it at a slightly lower temp (330) for 25 minutes, also. I'm a Louisiana girl, and this is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I have rated this recipe before. But, not reviewed . . . it is a very good recipe--best dough recipe that I've found. Easy to half . . . as most won't need two cakes. I have taken out the raisins and nuts to keep it more authentic. I also used a different cream cheese and icing recipe. I HIGHLY recommend using Rapid Rise yeast as it will cut out the FIRST proof of 2 hours. Basically cutting recipe time in half! Just follow direction on yeast pack -- it's a 10 minute rest after kneading instead of 2 hours . . . Will be making a few soon for friends and family!!! Happy Mardi Gras from BR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Rating even before trying., Just made a King Cake yesterday adapting two recipes from allrecipes.com, loved it! Reason I am rating this is because I like the sound of the filling use here Jo. Already planning one with raisins...but going to put the raisins in my dough., But will def. use your filling idea. One note...folks these are SWEET coffee cakes...the glaze and sprinkles make it over the top...so you can go easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I've actually made this once before and it was fantastic. Now I have a question: Can you make any of this ahead of time? I'd love to make the dough and chill, then let it rest the next day, fill and either bake then or bake the next day. Anyone have experience with this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
As a Louisiana native, I adore this recipe! I omitted the raisins and nuts out of personal preference but added creolemama's cream cheese part on top of the brown sugar mix. Perfect! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was enough to make two medium sized cakes and friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States