Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MardiGrasKingCake
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very lovely cake. Simply delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Wow! This was amazing. I took some to a friend and she made me promise she didn't have to wait another year for mardi gras to come around before she got more. My son doesn't like pecans so I had used almond meal in place of them, and it was incredible. On one of them, I added almond extract to the icing. The only thing odd was the cooking time. I cooked one at a time rather than together as they wouldn't fit together in the oven, and the first one burned as it only took the second one 15 minutes to bake. But I'll definitely be making this for special breakfasts as well as fat tuesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
the dough was excellent, easy to work with, and utterly delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Tasted yummy, but I think the filling could be doubled or even tripled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is sensational! Wonderful flavors and authentic as you can get! Was a big hit with friends. One lady, who lived in New Orleans, says this brought back good memories of Mardi Gras. And yes, I did keep one cake for myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a King Cake. A coworker had mentioned this cake on numerous occasions so I decided to make this for him. He grew up with this tradition so I was very pleased when he told me it was excellent and reminded him of years long gone. Everyone at work rated this 4 1/2 to 5 stars....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made this for the first time this year, it was super easy and super tasty! It was gone in about 5 min! The only thing I did different (on accident) I forgot the raisins. and it was so perfect that way I probably wouldn't add them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jam21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fun and easy to make, although it made one BIG King Cake! It did seem a tiny bit dry, but was perfect the next day. I put a mixture of cream cheese, pecans brown sugar & cinnamon as the filling. Also flung some rum into my icing, just for fun. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was really good and just like I remember from living in NOLA. Next time I will probably add a bit of vanilla to the frosting. I also recommend using the golden raisins for this. Final note: this makes a lot. Easily serves 24+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
SO MUCH BETTER THEN STORE BOUGHT!!!!! My Husband LOVED it! The work pays off. Didn't realize it made two rings though. Will have to share. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States