Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
AWESOME!! I just have one issue: the bottom of it burns everytime i make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxynesmom1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was my first time making a king cake and also my first time even trying one so I wasnt sure what to expect. It came out very good. Kind of like a cross between a honey bun and cinnamon roll. I did leave out the raisins and also cut the recipe in half to just make one cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I volunteered to make this cake for a Mardi Gras party I am attending and was disappointed. The temperature indicated on the recipe is not that mentioned in the video. In the recipe, 375 F. is the temperature, but in the video it is 350 F. It would seem that experience is a pre-requisite when making this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have family in the south. This is a big deal to them! Now I know how to make it! I live in Boulder Colorado and we really don't celebrate. (-:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I rarely give such a low rating, but after the amount of work that went into this, I was very disappointed when I checked the first cake with 5 minutes left to bake, and the outer surface was burned beyond being edible. I followed all other instructions to a tee, but something was clearly off. Guess I'll hope the second cake goes better- I'll certainly check it sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this as written once and it was OK. Made it again with a few changes and it was the best king cake I've ever eaten! -The second time, I made half the recipe, only one cake. -I accidentally dropped about a tsp of nutmeg into the dough but it tasted better like that than the original amount. -I spread 8 oz. of cream cheese before the pecan filling, which I doubled (used the same amount as would be used for 2 cakes), and substituted dried cranberries for raisins. -I baked it at 340F for about 35 minutes. -I also made a cream cheese glaze with regular granulated sugar dissolved in a few tablespoons of water because I was out of confectioners sugar. With these changes, it is a 5 star recipe. As written, it's a 3. The dough is quite good, just needs more filling. Careful! not to over-cook. It will dry it out and it won't be and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The bread was perfect! This was my first try at a King Cake and it came out sooooo good. I let the dough rise in the microwave with a cup of hot water sitting to the side, idk if that really helped but this dough was so fluffy and soft, and even better the next day. On one cake I did the butter, cinnamon/brown sugar, and on the other I did half cream cheese, half strawberry pie filling mixed with cream cheese. The plain cinnamon/sugar was great and the strawberry cream cheese was rocking' too. I made the frosting like a few others posted: 2 1/2 C powdered sugar, 1 T butter, a little vanilla, and lemon juice and milk. I live in BR and this was my first king Cake of the season... it's gonna be tough to beat! So excited I know how to make a king cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have been an allrecipes lurker for years and i really felt that i had to rate this recipe because it is AWESOME!. I make this all the time and vary the filling to suit the occasion. I even use this dough for cinnamon buns! Also, if you find that you don't have the time to do it all at once, you can let it do it's second rise in the fridge over night. The dough wont be as airy but its still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This ended up tasting okay, pretty authentic, but dried out quickly and was not worth the fuss. I cut the recipe in half, because I only needed one cake! The dough was much too sticky and very frustrating to work with. It tore when I rolled it up with the filling, which I made with just butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Even though I tried to patch it, some of the filling leaked out while baking. I read other reviews first and knew the baking time was too long, but forgot to check the cake early, so it got too browned on top. Also, the icing recipe made very little, so it was only drizzled on the cake. I'll be going back to my old recipe next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PHRANC
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a pretty easy recipe to follow. I dyed my sugars and roasted the pecans. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States