Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was great even though I forgot to add the butter to the dough part. oops! Tasted like a less rich cinnamon roll and is definitely something I can see myself making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Followed the recipe to the letter and this worked wonderfully. It's rather like a coffee cake and was a great hit today at the office. People tend to forget about holidays when they're living in a cube. My only wish is that the pastry stayed soft after baking. Well, that's what a microwave is for I guess. It takes awhile, but for an annual tradition, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was wonderful! I used Smart Balance in place of the butter but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I cut the recipe in half and it made just the right amount for our family. Next time, I'll reduce baking time by about 5 minutes or so. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it as posted, except I left out the raisins b/c my daughter doesn't like them. I wish I had seen the reviews about cooking it at a lower temp. 30 mins at 375 was definately too long. Next time I will probably add some more filling since that was everyone's favorite part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Do NOT bake with the baby! Cut a small hole in side after it is cooled and frosted. I use root beer or sassafrass to flavor the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galateea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SomeKindaWonderful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This tasted really good, great recipe. I can't say if it's a true king cake or not, but it was delicious. I do need to comment on other's comments...Rolling out this cake is not simple since it is bread dough. Making one big braided bread results in too large a cake that doesn't cook through without modifying the baking time and temp. The modified icing of milk, sugar, butter and vanilla was good, but use half the vanilla it calls for. Otherwise, thanks to everyone for their useful comments! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fatehpur
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this cake last night and it's already half gone at work today! I made the dough exactly as the recipe stated but made one ring with the cinnamon/brown sugar filling and then made a cream cheese filling for the other. I only had regular crystal sugar for the colored sugar which worked fine but if you want a more solid color I would suggest using sanding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
What a great presentation this made! Delicious too. I followed several reviews and lowered oven temp. to 335 F. I twisted the 2 rolls together and it came out the size of a sheet cake once it doubled. Definately needs more filling than called for. 5 stars if you double the filling, as is there were several areas that were just dry cake, no filling. Will definately make again! I hid the toy "baby" with a whole nutmeg to be sure it was seen. A huge hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
First time I ever celebrated Mardi gras this way. I made this for my coworkers who absolutely loved this. I had to explain them the meaning behind the colors and all (we're French, that kind of king cake doesn't exist here) and they were delighted. A great success, thanks a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
A little too sweet for my tastes, the dough was perfect though. Maybe the frosting + the colored sugar was just too much? Kind of tasted like a really sweet cinnamon roll. I used my bread machines dough setting to do the rising and the kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States