Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe! Thanks for posting it. (I also was an anti-raisin-in-King-Cake person though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by harrywdog
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Non-dairy, but fantastic! I have never made anything that needed to rise before, so I was doubly impressed. I made a couple of changes because of food allergies but I believe that the recipe would be at least as good if not better without any modifications. I had to make this non-dairy so I substituted frozen leftover dairy-free eggnog for the milk. I figured that would be closer to real milk than rice milk would have been. I reduced the sugar just a little bit to compensate for the sweetness of the eggnog. I also used dairy-free butter. Oh, yeah, I didn't have pecans so I chopped up some almonds instead. Worked great. One more thing: I didn't have the right colors of sprinkles for Mardi Gras, so I made colored sugar using the recipe found under "Colored Sugar" on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ElleMcAlister
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this recipe with Creole Mama's recipe for additional filling (found in the ratings here) and it was absolutely perfect! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Huge hit at our home! Made it with Cindy's Jambalaya for a perfect Fat Tuesday meal. I made it in our bread machine till step 3. Yes it does make more than one. In fact I made I large and 2 small choosing to give 2 away with a note "Laissez les bons temps rouler". I did forget to pick up a toy baby....and baby Jesus was tucked away in the attic. :))) ps I added a bit of vanilla to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fromkateskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by Shadow
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OMG- So, we all hate those people who alter recipes to the point where they can't even be compared to the original... that being said... I halved this recipe, since I didn't want to make 2 cakes. I'm also glad I read the instructions all the way through, to see it does in fact make 2 cakes. I did NOT half the filling though... in fact I added a first cream cheese layer ( 1 block of room temp cream cheese w/ 1/2 cup powdered sugar, in stand mixer for maybe a bit too long... yummy!) Also, I have bread machine yeast... I did have the required 1 packet of active dry yeast on hand, but, have not had luck in the past, so I used 1 1/2 tsp of bread machine yeast, let rise for 1 hour for the first go (did the dough in the stand mixer, wound up using close to 3 cups of all purpose flour) let it rise for another 45 minutes on the second go around, after rolling out and filling in an oven I had already heated to 200 degree F for the colored sugar... it rose beautifully... after maybe 30-45 minutes I had to pull it out of the oven at that point so I could pre-heat it to 375. Cooked it for 30 minutes... I did put an upside down custard cup in the center that I sprayed with PAM... good thing too... since I probably went a bit overboard with the yeast... still. So Good. The end result? I've had King Cake, during Mardi Gras, in Louisiana and this... is infinitely better. Of course I did basically quadruple fill it... I will try again with less filling, if only for the non nut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Bread machine users be careful! I have a 2 pound bread machine and thought I would use the dough cycle. I should have watched it more carefully, as I ended up with a huge mess in my bread machine. I recommend cutting the recipe in half unless you plan to spend at least half an hour cleaning out the inside of your machine. The king cake is absolutely delicious. This is the first time I have eve tried it. I will make it again, but will skip the machine and do it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Yummy! I did cherries instead of raisins because we don't like raisins. net time I would double the filling and possibly bake in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I doubled the filling and my co-workers who have been to New Orleans said that I nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
First time trying this recipe and it came out better than I expected. The video was very helpful, and good for referencing how to kneed the dough. I didn't like the frosting so I made a buttercream frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneatta Jasper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Easy to follow instructions. If using a convection oven, rotate half ways through the baking time at 350. Also, if using a kitchen aid mixer, put the wet mix in the bowl and add the flour per directions at speed 2 for 3-4 min to develop gluten. To make sprinkles buy colored gel at Michaels or other and toothpick some in a sandwich bag and mix sugar colors. EVERYONE LOVED IT. "THANKS"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States