Marcia's Famous Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a family favorite! The key to this recipe turning out perfect is to use the COOK and SERVE pudding. The instant pudding will not work as well. I use 24 Rhodes Dinner rolls, cut in half. I roll each piece in the dry pudding, melt the butter and brown sugar together and pour over the top. I bake mine for 35-40 minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is a very old famiy recipe of ours as well! Who the heck would make rolls like this from scratch again! Anyway.. I do make a couple of differnt changes. I use toasted almonds instead of walnuts (just personal taste) and about 3/4 box of COOK and SERVE Butterscotch pudding. Also use the Rhodes brand of frozen dinner rolls ( I put approx 16 rolls in the pan) I bake for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I follow this loosely. (We call this "cinnamon rolls, btw - though it's probably, techinically "monkey bread.") I tried it as written and was not happy. Read the reviews, made some changes, and love it! I sub butterscotch cook-n-serve pudding for the vanilla instant. I mix all the dry ingredients. Cut the rolls into ~4-5 pieces each, dredge through the brown sugar/cinnamon/pudding mixture and place on top of the nuts in the pan. After, I pour the rest of the dry mixture over the rolls, and pour the melted butter over all. I cover with foil and place in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I place the uncovered pan in a cold oven, then I turn the oven on to 350, and set the timer for 40 minutes. Great every time! (I probably would have given the original recipe, maybe a 3.5 star rating - I had really large rolls without much ooey, gooey, sticky stuff . . . A solid 5 with my tweaks . . . )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This is a Blue Ribbon recipe! I followed the instructions and prepared it before going to bed last night and when I awoke this morning and baked the rolls I was facinated with the results and so was my husband. They were the most beautiful and delicious sticky buns that I have ever had and without a doubt the easiest recipe I have ever followed. I didn't have quite a full pkg. of frozen dough but had about half and it still turned out beautifully. I would highly reccomend this recipe to anyone and I will be using it again and again. Thank you Marcia for being kind enough to share it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is a long time family recipe. We do not use instant pudding, rather the "cook and serve" vanilla pudding. Each frozen roll is roughly an ounce, so 12 ounces of rolls is a dozen. Follow the directions and this recipe turns out great! LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These are great caramel rolls but I believe the recipe directions are wrong. What I do is thaw out two loaves of frozen bread dough and I do not let it rise. The first loaf I tear up in pieces and drop helter skelter in a 9/13 inch pan that is well greased. I then use a hand mixer to mix all the ingredients except the brown sugar smooth. I also use cook and serve pudding and regular butter. Do not use the instant! It will turn out clumpy! After mixing I pour it over the dough. Then I take the second loaf and tear that up and drop that on top of the dough and pudding mixture. Then I take the brown sugar and sprinkle it over the pan of rolls. The little that stick to the top of the rolls will make a nice glaze and will also keep the moisture in the bread. Then I let it double in size and bake for 30 min. on 375. The last 10 min place foil over them so they do not get too brown or burn. When they are done line a cookie sheet with foil and put wax paper on top. Spray the wax paper with oil and lay the cookie sheet with the foil and oil wax on top of the pan and flip over. Let sit for a few minutes to let the caramel drizzle in the rolls then carefully remove the pan! Voila! Perfect caramel rolls! I am positive that to just dump the pudding on top will make it clumpy so always mix first with the butter and cinnamon. My mom has made these since I was little and now my family loves them as well! In fact I just put a pan in the oven to rise! Everyone I know loves these rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bagley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
These are fantastic and very easy! I've made these a few times and they fly off the plate! I've substituted butterscotch pudding and it was still great. Caution....grease pan well and turn over on a big plate or a plate with edges. A *must try* recipe! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I was expecting this recipe to be really good after all of the reviews but it wasn't. It wasn't "sticky" at all. All of the pudding powder just sat on top. I had to pour cream cheese frosting all over it just to make it edible. I won't be making these again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! I have been making it for 34 years...ever since I moved to Wisconsin. We call it "Monkey Bread" up here. I don't understand how anyone could have a flop as I have never had one and it's so darn easy! Make sure you use enough melted butter. I do a couple things differently but I don't think it should make too much of a difference. I use 18 Rhodes frozen rolls. I think cutting them in half is a good idea as the rolls can be quiet large and messy to eat...but that's the fun of it. I spray plastic wrap with Pam and cover the rolls over night. I never refriderate them...I don't see how they would rise that way. In the morning I have a beautiful, over-flowing bundt pan. Bake, and viola, perfection! I do suggest covering the pan with foil the last half of baking as the outer rolls get more dried out. Definitely use a large plate as the nut mixture accumulates on the bottom of the pan and then slides down the sides once the pan is inverted. This is a tradition on Christmas/Easter morning and a hit every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
AMAZING! People at the office ask me for it once a week! Peacans also work well instead of walnuts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States