Marcia's Famous Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made a few of these for a church bake sale. They were awesome and so easy. I too used Cook and Serve butterscotch pudding mix, sprinkled on top. Melted the butter, brown sugar and pecans on stove and poured all over the top. I also think using a round cake pan or a 9 x 9 pan with 8 or 9 rolls turns out better. It's more ooey and gooey that way. Flip it over when finished and not only do you have delicious rolls but fantastic presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Made these for mother's day brunch and to quote my mother, they were "divine"!! Sooo yummy and gooey and sticky! Used cook and serve pudding (one 3 oz vanilla, one 3oz butterscotch as i couldn't find a 5 oz pkg of either) as others suggested and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! In fact, I was inspired by this recipe, made a few changes, and won 2nd place in the Pennsylvania State Farm Show sticky bun contest! I made my own sticky bun bread dough, filled them with brown sugar, cinnamon and pecans, and then I covered them with a cooked mixture of this recipe, but used half vanilla and half butterscotch cook and serve pudding. Also, used pecans. Very good! Thanks for inspiring me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
came out perfect twice - everyone loved it Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My son's favorite Christmas Morning breakfast. I only used a small box of vanilla cook and serve pudding. This came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Oh my gosh, this was incredible! I could have eaten the entire pan! I'm not sure why the person said to cover it in a wet paper towel all night, but I followed all directions and it turned out SO GOOD. It's just delicious - I'll be making this again and again! I followed everyone's advice and bought the Jello Cook and Serve Butterscotch pudding. I accidentally got the fat free kind and it tasted great. PERFECT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These are great caramel rolls but I believe the recipe directions are wrong. What I do is thaw out two loaves of frozen bread dough and I do not let it rise. The first loaf I tear up in pieces and drop helter skelter in a 9/13 inch pan that is well greased. I then use a hand mixer to mix all the ingredients except the brown sugar smooth. I also use cook and serve pudding and regular butter. Do not use the instant! It will turn out clumpy! After mixing I pour it over the dough. Then I take the second loaf and tear that up and drop that on top of the dough and pudding mixture. Then I take the brown sugar and sprinkle it over the pan of rolls. The little that stick to the top of the rolls will make a nice glaze and will also keep the moisture in the bread. Then I let it double in size and bake for 30 min. on 375. The last 10 min place foil over them so they do not get too brown or burn. When they are done line a cookie sheet with foil and put wax paper on top. Spray the wax paper with oil and lay the cookie sheet with the foil and oil wax on top of the pan and flip over. Let sit for a few minutes to let the caramel drizzle in the rolls then carefully remove the pan! Voila! Perfect caramel rolls! I am positive that to just dump the pudding on top will make it clumpy so always mix first with the butter and cinnamon. My mom has made these since I was little and now my family loves them as well! In fact I just put a pan in the oven to rise! Everyone I know loves these rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bagley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
The goo came out great, but these were way too sweet for me. Next time I'll cut sown on both the brown sugar and the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Wow... this was SO easy and such a treat! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully! A lot of my nut topping stuck in the pan, but I used a spatula to move it to the rolls and it was fine. I made sure to pour the margarine as evenly over the dry ingredients as possible and didn't have any issues with dry powder on the sticky buns. It was PLENTY sticky too!! I think I would cut the nuts down by half since they were too much for our taste (they are good in this recipe, but they were in every bite and it seemed like too much). I used a 4 cup serving size package of sugar free instant vanilla pudding and it worked well. I will definitely give it a try with the butterscotch cook & serve next time as recommended by others. :) We served them with some cheesy scrambled eggs for a little protein. Yummy breakfast! (As a note - this was also VERY sweet, a little too sweet for me so be careful if you're sensitive to high amounts of sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Delicious. Only had the smaller package of vanilla pudding, but it still came out beautifully! Family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States