Marcia's Famous Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I love this recipe, especially with overnight guests! You MUST try this recipe using "cook and serve" butterscotch pudding in place of the instant vanilla pudding. It creates such a smooth caramel-ly sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I only use the cooked version of the pudding. I prefer Butterscotsh for a better flavor and use pecans instead of walnuts. Other options are to also add coconut ( this is very popular!), raisins or craisins, or whatever your heart desires! Because there is a lot of sugar in the pudding mix, I only use 1/2 cup brown sugar, melted with 1/2 cup butter and a dash of vanilla. 18 - 20 frozen buns, cut in half, fills a bundt pan perfectly. For a larger crown, I have used 24 -30 in a 9 x 13" cake pan ( adjust recipe accordingly ) with great success. Your guests will be amazed when you take fresh baked cinnamon buns out of the oven. Because they are "pull apart" buns, it is easier to handle by cutting them in half. Leaving them at room temperature for 15 min. Makes them easy to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I got this recipe from a friend several years ago and every time I make them they are gone in a flash! Everyone loves them and asks for the recipe. I add raisins with the walnuts. And be sure to use the Cook and Serve pudding. My husband always says I should take a picture when I make them because they look like they were made in a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is absolutely the best sticky bun recipe I have ever tried. I used it in my foods class....perfection for every kitchen :) I will never make homemade cinnamon rolls again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
With all the reviews I was so dissappointed like another poster had the same comment. I don't know I followed exactly except I forgot the wet paper towel over it which I'm sure made a difference but these were not gooey at all very dry and clumpy as others had suggested that they use the cook and serve pudding I used what it called for and was soooo dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I follow this loosely. (We call this "cinnamon rolls, btw - though it's probably, techinically "monkey bread.") I tried it as written and was not happy. Read the reviews, made some changes, and love it! I sub butterscotch cook-n-serve pudding for the vanilla instant. I mix all the dry ingredients. Cut the rolls into ~4-5 pieces each, dredge through the brown sugar/cinnamon/pudding mixture and place on top of the nuts in the pan. After, I pour the rest of the dry mixture over the rolls, and pour the melted butter over all. I cover with foil and place in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I place the uncovered pan in a cold oven, then I turn the oven on to 350, and set the timer for 40 minutes. Great every time! (I probably would have given the original recipe, maybe a 3.5 star rating - I had really large rolls without much ooey, gooey, sticky stuff . . . A solid 5 with my tweaks . . . )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this for brunch with friends, using the suggested cook & serve pudding (rather than instant) and used pecans rather than walnuts (personal preference. It was so easy to put together the night before -- and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandakburns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
VERY good and VERY sweet! I would give this 5 stars, only it was very sweet. I may not use as much brown sugar next time. But all in all a wonderful recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Love this recipe. Great for Sunday mornings. I used cook and serve butterscotch pudding instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
GREAT & EASY! I have made other versions of this before and this one is the one I will make year after year. I did use cook and serve pudding istead of instant and I used (2) 3oz packets and I also upped the butter to a stick and a half because we like more sticky stuff on ours. Moreover, I used pecans instead of walnuts. Love this recipe!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States