Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by LiLGarnsey
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe!! I've made it several times now, and my family loves it!! I do make a few modifications: for the crust, I use 1 cup graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 cup crushed vanilla wafers, 1 teaspoon ginger and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg instead of the ginger snaps. I use Splenda in place of white sugar (for the diabetics in my family) and I use clear Mexican vanilla extract (it has the BEST flavor of any vanilla extract I've ever tried! Wal-Mart sells it in the ethnic foods section). Instead of canned pumpkin, I use butternut squash. I cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, and bake at 350 degrees until it is tender (usually just over an hour, depending on how many squash I cook at once) then I scoop out the insides of the squash and use a blender, food processor, or hand mixer to get it to a consistency resembling canned pumpkin before measuring it out and adding to the other ingredients. After the cheesecake is baked and cooled, I use a cake decorator to put daubs of Sugar Free Cool Whip all over the top of the cheesecake (this makes the dessert more party-friendly, and eliminates the need to set out Cool Whip and extra serving utensils with this dish!) Then I sprinkle finely chopped pecans over the Cool Whip. Everyone loves it and always requests the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was unsure of whether pumpkin works well in cheesecake... but it DOES!! Great recipe - but be sure to chill thoroughly for at least 4 hours, or it will be too custard-pie-ish Delicious, and worth making for the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very good...and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cLionwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The comment I got from everyone on Thanksgiving is "that's different". It is, but it's also really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Las Vegas Tribune

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
AWESOME. I've never made a cheesecake this good before. I did add a LOT more spice, like everyone suggested, and refridgerated the batter for only about 20 minutes so it created a wonderful swirl. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I think I'll be making this a holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have to say that I was fairly disappointed with this recipe. While it did look very pretty, it tasted far more like a sloppy pumpkin pie than a cheesecake. I should of added some allspice and ginger like others had recommended. There was too much pumpkin batter compared to cream cheese. If I were to try this out again, I would add one more package of cream cheese to the cream cheese mixture and add some more spices. I don't think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I already had a pumpkin cheesecake recipe, but needed a good crust. I made this one with it, and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great, easy and plan to make it again for Christmas! Changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Wow this Cheesecake came out beautiful and tasted great. I did not have gingersnaps so I used graham crackers and it was wonderful. Next time I will try the gingersnaps. This will now be a Thanksgiving standard. I also scaled it to 16 (and used a 10" springform pan) and was glad because we had very little left and were happy for the little leftovers we had. If you scale it to 16 you don't really haveto adjust the crust. I did and had a little more crust than I would have liked. We prefer a thin crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States