Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I'm kind of torn on this recipe and so were my family who ate it. The pros were: they enjoyed the gingersnap crust (although my mom felt the crust should have had more of a "gingery" taste to it.) and it is nice to serve for Christmas or Thanksgiving since it has a strong pumpkin flavor. The cons: It doesn't really taste like cheesecake, it could have been slightly sweeter, if they had to choose between this cheesecake and a regular cheesecake they'd choose the regular cheesecake. I think the cheesecake turned out nicely for what it was, but I do think the pumpkin slightly overpowers the actual cheesecake flavor. One of my other complaints is that once the cheesecake is done, it really doesn't look marbled at all. This wasn't a bust, but it just didn't live up to my expectations. It's a fine recipe, I just won't be making it again since I felt that it was more on the "average" side. Also, as a side note for those wanting to make this recipe or any cheesecake recipe: it's not necessary to use a springform pan. I used a 9 inch cake pan and it was absolutely fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was great, tasty, and easy to make. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This baked up nicely except the crust got soft. I used a 7-in pan and it baked in a little over an hour at 325. Because of the smaller pan, I used half the crust recipe and only put it on the bottom which was just enough. I used the equivalent of two eggs worth of egg beaters, made homemade gingersnaps and pumpkin puree, usedhalf reduced fat cream cheese, and put a dish of water in the oven with it. It did not crack but had a few fine lines where the swirls came together. Overall, a good flavor blend and a nice combo of dense but not too dry. After tasting the pumpkin batter I did feel it needed a little more spice so I added a dash or two of pumpkin pie spice. I think it would be too thin if made in a 9-in pan but that's probably just our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was pretty good. Instead I made this recipe into mini cheesecakes using a cupcake tray (about 28 mini's) and topped them with a Pumpkin seed whipped cream (1 cup whipping cream, 3 Tablespoons powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon Vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon, or so, pumpkin seed oil). I sprinkled a little pumpkin pie spice on top of the whipped cream! Pretty tasty addition. The only other thing I changed was that I used frozen pumpkin from the garden. The boyfriend, who tells me he hates cheesecake, almost ate the entire batch before they made it to his mother's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Breitlauch

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This cheesecake was delicious. It just took me way longer the cook than instructed. I used a 9 inch spring form pan and the batter pretty much filled it up. With such a tall cheesecake I had to cook about 20 mintues more than listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmadsen3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Was a disappointment. Normally I NEVER have leftover cheesecake and with this one I had lots left. Good but not good enough to make again. And the ginger snap cookies make for a crust not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This cheesecake was DIVINE! Perfect blend of pumpkin and cream cheese. And the crust - oh my goodness, so incredibly good. I made this for my in-laws Thanksgiving dinner, and they were very impressed and wouldn't stop complimenting me on it. I almost had an accident with the cheesecake last night when I was baking it though, the bottom of the springform pan almost dropped off when I was putting the cake in the oven, and so it fell a couple of inches. I was so worried when it was baking that the crust had cracked or something, and of course I couldn't really know for sure until we were cutting into it, but it turned out great. One tip though, I used a 9-in. pan and I mixed up the crust according to the directions, and when I spread it out in the pan there wasn't nearly enough to go all along the bottom and up the sides, so I will double the crust ingredients the next time I make this. Otherwise this is a great recipe and I'm sure it will be requested again since my mother-in-law and sisters-in-law absolutely LOVED it! Thanks for this fantastic recipe, Renee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good... i was being lazy, and didn't even bother "marbling" it, which subsequently resulting in my forgetting to add the last 1/4 cup of sugar..... didn't even miss it! I also doubled the spices as suggested by others. Next time I may give it a go with Neufchatel cheese, just to see if the extra spices and pumpkin flavor would mask the lighter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy to make and customize. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
It didn't cave in! This is the first cheesecake recipe I've ever tried that did NOT cave in in the middle here in the high altitude of Colorado! The marbling is fun and the cheesecake is tasty, I don't like pies or desserts that are too pumpkiny, this one is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HODDIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States