Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 24)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I've made this cheesecake twice now. Once with the pecans in the crust and once without. I really liked it with no pecans. When that are added to the crust they overpower the taster of the gingersnaps. Love the cheesecake but better without the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Nice mix between cheesecake and pumpkin pie. I did make some changes: I used vanilla wafers instead of gingersnap cookies. I also added 2 tbsp of brown sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla butter nut extract, added a 1/2 cup of heavy cream, 1/2 cup of flour, and omitted the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
so festive! I made this for our Thanksgiving dessert and it was quite a hit. turned out very well with only 1 small crack, which I think happened because I didn't run a knife around the edge before I shut the oven off and let it cool for an hour. lesson learned. next time I will consider holding back less batter for the "plain" swirling part, the whole cup of batter was too much on top of mine (I used an 8.5" springform pan) and I didn't quite get the marbled top I wanted. still tasted great. I'd also recommend refrigerating the separate layers for the cleanest marbling effect. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Tasted too much like pumpkin pie and not enough like cheesecake. I'll go back to the old recipe I used to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
For all who read reviews and tweak! This recipe is amazing! I made it for Thanksgiving to take to the neighbors and everyone raved! I adjusted the recipe to serve 18 and it filled out my springform perfectly. Eggs and cream cheese were brought to room temp before I started. I followed the recipe as changed with the new serving size exactly. Except: Added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the pumpkin filling. Note - If using your mixer use the paddle attachment not the wire wisk. Also, still only need about 3/4 C filling to marble in. Baked at 325 for 70 minutes, with a pan of water on the lower rack - couldn't do a water bath my springform pan leaks. When the time was up, I turned the oven off and opened the door. Left in the oven cooling for 1 hr. Then moved to the counter to cool another 1 1/2 hrs before moving the fridge. ABSOLUTELY NO CRACKS! Crust and filling was perfect! Great recipe, has been requested for Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Have now made this recipe twice and had to fight to get a piece for myself. My family and friends love it!! Even the kids take seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NewsteadECS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Made it for Thanksgiving and got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is the recipe I use every year that is DEMANDED by my family. They don't realize how easy it is! The only difference is I use 3 pkgs of cream cheese, makes it creamier and less runny as others stated. It's great because you don't need to use a water bath to keep it from cracking and the marbled look is wonderful. People can't believe I didn't buy it at a bakery! And as another reviewer stated, it's good with 1/2 ginger snaps & 1/2 graham crackers. I prefer it this way as I find the all gingersnap crust a little over the top but for the family get togethers, they like the full strength ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trout Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cheesecake was such a hit that I made it twice back to back for Thanksgiving dinner at church and at friends this year. My friend who claimed the pumpkin pie as one of the "must-have" items of thanksgiving declared that she would take this cheesecake over Pumpkin pie anytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawaiian_munshkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very good -- as adjusted according to suggestions by Trish (nov 18th 08 review). Added dash of ground gloves, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp or so of fresh nutmeg. Baked at 325 for 55 mins over a pan of water. Cracked oven and let cool in oven about an hour. Didn't have time to put in fridge for several hours, as she suggested. (No cracks) I also held back around a 1/4 c of the pumpkin batter and drizzled 1/2 c of the plain batter on the top, then the 1/4 c of pumpkin batter, then the rest of the plain batter and swirled from there. Looked great. I used vanilla wafers and almonds in the crust, as that was what I had on hand. I would prefer the pecans - but the almonds were okay too. All in all this was a very good cheesecake, with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 231-240 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States