Marbled New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I thought this recipe was great! I wonder if that first person who commented might have mistakenly used evaporated milk instead of sweet & condensed milk? Anyway, I made this for a party, and wowed everyone with it! It was beautiful and it tasted great! It is not quite as sweet as a normal new york cheesecake, I think because of the semi-sweet chocolate in it, but it was really good that way,because sometimes cheesecakes can be a little too sweet. I garnished it with 4 chocolate covered strawberries in the center, them put whip cream swirls all around the edges, and stuck several chocolate shavings in each whip cream swirl. It was beatiful and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Using 4 packages of cream cheese was a chore in itself, trying to get all the lumps out, but finally did. I put it in a water bath, cooked according to directions, did everything right. When I took it out of the springform pan it had fallen on one side, the coloring was strange, and it was BLAND! There was NO FLAVOR. I had made this for my husband's family, and was trying to impress them. My brother-in-law who can eat a whole cheesecake only ate half the piece. I knew then I would never make this again. Too much work for so little. Don't waste your time with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this recipe a week ago and plan to repeat it tonight for Thanksgiving. I omitted the chocolate (I wanted a pure cheesecake). I used my KA stand mixer and it worked out the lumps beautifully. I had also brought the cream cheese to room temperature before mixing to aid the process. I also used roughly a quarter more graham crackers and walnuts for the crust and brought it half way up the sides (we love crust). I placed another pan with water in the oven for steam and baked for the minimum amount of time. My cheesecake doubled in size and did crack quite a lot. The top was browned (just a little too much on the edges) and sorta dried out the first little layer of cake. After the refrigeration period, you couldn't tell there were any cracks. I give it 5 stars because I know if I bake it for 5 minutes less, it'll be perfect. Tonight, I plan on adding a small amount of orange zest to the mixture, drizzling chocolate around the outside edges, and creating a centerpiece of partially covered chocolate orange slices. Yumm. Also, this recipe is for CHEESEcake lovers. It's very cheesy and not very sweet. It's also very dense, not light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberrygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
A truly New York style cheesecake. It has a dense cheese flavor with a mild chocolate flavor. No need to bake it in a water bath just follow the directions. I made and found it easy to prepare and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe is so good I am making my first review ever! I made an oreo crust instead of graham and it was awesome. The cake is tall, smooth and velvety, my family said it was the best cake they ever ate, and that I should sell it lol! A few suggestions.... To help prevent cracks drop your pan from an inch or ap height a few times to make the bubbles come out.Follow the allrecipes video about how to cook a cheesecake using a water bath. It makes a wonderful difference, and it's easy, just add a few minutes to your bake time, I cooked mine 75 minutes. I also returned the cake to the oven when it was turned off and out of the water bath so it would cool extra slowly. Also to the reviewer who sai it's not sweet enough - was your can of eagle brand 14 oz or 300 ml? Make sure you check! I am in Canada and our cans are 300 ml. I added 4 tbsp extra sugar to compensate. Turned out just right. Thanks eagle brand for a perfect first cheesecake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Vesak-Torriss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peace River, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
One of the smoother cheesecakes I made probably due to the condensed milk. I brought it over my in laws and everyone loved how it looked, even with the crack in the middle. I added some flour but perhaps I'll try it with cornstarch to prevent the crack. It wasn't too sweet which was good, I like the texture alot vs the other ny style cheesecake, this is not dense at all. You won't be disappointed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I wasn't a fan only because it wasn't sweet enough for my taste. But, I made it for my husband for his birthday last year and he LOVED it! He asked for it again this year. He liked that it wasn't over the top sweet but still smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nunyabusiness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Maine, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dano
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This one is a definite keeper. I cold smoked my chocolate with mesquite before melting. Exquisite smoked chocolate cheesecake and it looked beautiful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Delicious, a great mix of both the regular and the chocolate cheesecake. Really good texture, as well. Not overwhelmingly rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I had heard horror stories from first time cheesecake bakers and was hesitant to try one, but this recipe was easy to follow and the cheesecake was delicious! I have now used this recipe twice with excellent results and only a small crack on the edge that nearly disappears when cooled. Even extended family continues to rave about it weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States