Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T. Its a good, pretty cake thats easy to make. It keeps for DAYS as well but dried out a bit. however, if you want to infuse some extra moisture into it, dampen a paper towel, wrap a piece of the cake into it and nuke it for a couple of secions. great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great! but If I hadnt made these changes I think it might have turned out dry: 1. use 3 cups flour (I used normal all purpose flour) 2. Mix differently: First cream butter and sugar together. Beat in eggs one at a time, add vanilla. Then add the premixed dry ingredients SIFTED to the batter alternating with the milk (1/3 flour mixture - 1/3 milk ending with milk) When you put in the cocoa to the 2 1/2 cups of batter SIFT THE COCOA I used salted butter and omitted the extra salt. Also, I used the whisk advise to creat a marbled effect. I put 3/4 of the chocolate batter, then all the white batter and then spooned in the rest of the chocolate batter and spreaded with a knife, then stuck in the whisk all around the cake. Perfect! Glazed with easy chocolate bundt cake glaze from this site NOTE: this is a dense but moist cake making these adjustments. You WILL need a glass of milk! I am giving this 5 stars ONLY BECAUSE I THINK THAT WITH THESE CHANGES ITS WORTH A TRY, AND TO ENCOURAGE OTHERS TO TRY IT! if I were to rate this recipe as is i wouldnt be able to because I didnt follow directions because in my book ingredients arent mixed that way and im not going to risk my ingredients Update: ok, so a day has past and this cake is definetly a 5. it is still moist. its covered only with plastic wrap. forgot to say i glazed this with a glaze found on this site: 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 1 (14 ounce) sweetened condensed milk. heat on medium heat stirring constantly until chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
SUPER! I only make 1/2 because that is all we need. I also only use 3/4 cup of sugar and I add lemon zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
It's ok. I have tasted better from the store. Took longer in my oven but I think it's because I used a pampered chef ceramic loaf pan. I used less flour and added water to the cocoa batter, because it was like cookie dough! I probably should have used more vanilla or maybe some imitation rum to make it more fragrant. I think I might play with this one once more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a no fail cake. Very easy to make and sooooo good!! I did reduce the amount of flour by half a cup like others suggested. I've mad it twice now and both times it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaniaRigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The flavor of this cake was pretty good, but my swirl didn't turn out very pretty ... I think that if I try it again, I won't swirl, I'll just pour the chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
EXCELLENT! I tried this recipe (nd it was my 1st time at baking a cake!!!). It came out JUST right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Delicious! This recipe got rave reviews at home and the office. I used it as a basic pound cake and left out the marbling since I didn't have any cocoa powder on hand. It was amazing! Tasty and rich, sweet but not overpowering. My roommate who rarely craves sweets loved it. We ate it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some tips: I used whole milk because I had boughten it by mistake and I think it went a along way in keeping the cake moist. Also, 50 minutes was enough baking time in my oven. Watch it toward the end as too much time in the oven may cause the center to fall in. (Still very edible though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Incredibly easy, beautiful, moist, and tasty! I baked this in a 9x13 for 35 minutes. Would have been great with chocolate buttercream frosting, but frosting is so not necessary. Will DEFINITELY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have a wonderful pound cake recipe, but I was looking for something different. The chocolate swirl sounded good. It was ok, but it did not have the consistency of pound cake. This cake is very spongy and light! Pound cake should be heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States