Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
SUPER! I only make 1/2 because that is all we need. I also only use 3/4 cup of sugar and I add lemon zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
It's ok. I have tasted better from the store. Took longer in my oven but I think it's because I used a pampered chef ceramic loaf pan. I used less flour and added water to the cocoa batter, because it was like cookie dough! I probably should have used more vanilla or maybe some imitation rum to make it more fragrant. I think I might play with this one once more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a no fail cake. Very easy to make and sooooo good!! I did reduce the amount of flour by half a cup like others suggested. I've mad it twice now and both times it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaniaRigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The flavor of this cake was pretty good, but my swirl didn't turn out very pretty ... I think that if I try it again, I won't swirl, I'll just pour the chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
EXCELLENT! I tried this recipe (nd it was my 1st time at baking a cake!!!). It came out JUST right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Delicious! This recipe got rave reviews at home and the office. I used it as a basic pound cake and left out the marbling since I didn't have any cocoa powder on hand. It was amazing! Tasty and rich, sweet but not overpowering. My roommate who rarely craves sweets loved it. We ate it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some tips: I used whole milk because I had boughten it by mistake and I think it went a along way in keeping the cake moist. Also, 50 minutes was enough baking time in my oven. Watch it toward the end as too much time in the oven may cause the center to fall in. (Still very edible though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Incredibly easy, beautiful, moist, and tasty! I baked this in a 9x13 for 35 minutes. Would have been great with chocolate buttercream frosting, but frosting is so not necessary. Will DEFINITELY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have a wonderful pound cake recipe, but I was looking for something different. The chocolate swirl sounded good. It was ok, but it did not have the consistency of pound cake. This cake is very spongy and light! Pound cake should be heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I bake a lot of cakes, and I will be using this recipe again. As others suggested, I reduced the flour by about 1/2 cup. It turned out moist and delicious. I also used 2 8" pans instead of a tube pan and reduced the time. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I took the popular advice and used only 2 3/4 cups flour and baked about 50 minutes. And yet, it was still a little dry. The flavor was nice, but I think this recipe could have used more eggs and maybe even less flour. If I make it again, I might be adventurous enough to experiment with 2 1/4 cups flour. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States