Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Yup, cut down to 3 cups flour and bake for 50 minutes. I added 2 tsp instant coffee dissolved in 1 Tbs hot water to the chocolate portion and I upped the vanilla to 1 Tbs in the whole batter to ensure the vanilla portion had strong vanilla flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I came across this recipe last night and decided to give it a try. I was a bit hesitant because all the reviews said they changed it in some way. So I decided to make a few alterations myself: I replaced the 1 cup of butter with 1/2 cup of oil and 1/4 cup of apple sauce. I replaced the 2 cups of white sugar for 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour. Left out the salt. Everything else remained the same as the original. First, I creamed the oil, applesauce and sugars together. Then I added eggs in one at a time, followed by vanilla extract. In a separate bowl sift together flour and baking powder. Alternatively add in flour mixture and milk, 1/3 at a time. Mix together. Remove 2 1/2 cups batter and separately add in the cocoa powder. Butter and flour the pan you'll be using. Add in 3/4 of the chocolate batter, top with all the white batter, and then spoon in the remaining chocolate batter and spread with a knife. Use a whisk to mix batter and give it marbled effect. Bake for 60 minutes at 350F. ENJOY WITH A CUP OF MILK! :) Using this variation, it'll come out healthier and not as sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe and bake the cake for my family and they absolutely love that!!! Its not too sweet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Great recipe, I read the members views before trying this and it turned out just delicious and fluffy,,, thanks,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I followed other people's suggestions and cut back on the flour and only used 2 and 3/4 cups..everything else was the same. It tastes great!! I really didnt expect it to taste so good but mann was it yummy...everyone loved it and its already half gone. I had extra chocolate batter b/c i didnt divide it evenly so i baked it in a smaller pan. My dad who will not TOUCH chocolate ate the whole thing!! Try it..it is sooo good!! BTW - to get a good swirl effect going..alternatively spoon the batter in the pan in a sort of checkerboard pattern...and you dont have to swirl it using a spoon or anything...itll bake up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I followed the original recipe and it turned out to be too dry. Too much flour. Then I read the reviews and realised that indeed the flour should be reduced. If the flour amount is correct, it would be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This pound cake is excellent. I followed the suggestions of others and used less flour and it turned out perfect. I also used a recipe for chocolate icing found on this website. I drizzled it over the cake - YUMMY! I DEFINTELY WILL MAKE THIS CAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New York, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Like the most recent post, I took the advice of others and decreased the amount of flour. My family thought it was very tasty and it will definately become a "to keep" recipe ;) The only thing different was that my cake took at least an hour and a half to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wonderful Cake! I took the advice of many & decreased the amount of flour by a half a cup and only cooked it for 50 minutes and it was a hit! Used it for my cake business & the customers were very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I, also found this cake too dry. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews until I had already mixed it up, but I still had time to add an extra egg, probably about another 1/2 c. milk, and about 1/4 sugar to the chocolate half. Didn't make a difference, it was still dry. If I try this recipe again, I would definitely cut the flour down, at least 1/2 cup less than suggested. Disappointing for a pound cake with so many eggs in it to still be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States