Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
i love this recipe. i reserve part of the vanilla batter and add strawberry jello powder to make strawberry batter to make a triple marble cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really good cake. 4 stars because i had to follow the suggestion and reduce the flour and add the ingredients in a different order. I also added a 1/4 cup less sugar for my mom who doesn't like super sweet desserts. Next time I think i'll make it even less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Vinokurov

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
LOVE this recipe! Especially if I'm making a cake that needs to be carved! As others suggested, I cut the flour to 3 cups. I would HIGHLY recommend watching it closing for baking time as it only took 30 mins in my 9x13 and then it started to get dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Easy and delicious, that's all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I think this cake is great! I used 3 cups of flour as requested by other reviews. I poured this into 2-9inch pans and put homemade fondant over it. Perfect! PS: I followerd Katie_luvs2bake instructions under the reviews :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I've been a member for years. Thought I should sign up to tell you all that this is not at all a cake that tastes like a "pound cake." I was expecting a dense, rich, sweet cake. This is more of a angel food cake. So if the the name is changed to "Marble Swirl Angel Food Cake" then maybe the ratings would be higher. However, if you're looking for a sweet, Starbucks tasting marble cake..look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Cake flour has a smaller gluten content than bread or all-purpose flour, so if you are not using cake flour than you will have to reduce the amount of flour in the recipe. I used 3 cups bread flour and it was still a little on the dry side, but it wasn't dry to the point of crumbling apart, and after icing it it was fine. The second time I used 2+3/4 cups and the texture was perfect without a full layer of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This cake was extremely dry. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Adjusted the recipe to 2.75 cups following suggestions from before and the cake texture is awesome. Fine and melts in the mouth. My family couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Perfection! This is my new favorite marble cake. I followed others suggestions of using only 3 cups of flour and I substituted canola oil for the butter. Next time I will try it with 1/2 applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States