Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
LOVE this recipe! Especially if I'm making a cake that needs to be carved! As others suggested, I cut the flour to 3 cups. I would HIGHLY recommend watching it closing for baking time as it only took 30 mins in my 9x13 and then it started to get dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Easy and delicious, that's all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I think this cake is great! I used 3 cups of flour as requested by other reviews. I poured this into 2-9inch pans and put homemade fondant over it. Perfect! PS: I followerd Katie_luvs2bake instructions under the reviews :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I've been a member for years. Thought I should sign up to tell you all that this is not at all a cake that tastes like a "pound cake." I was expecting a dense, rich, sweet cake. This is more of a angel food cake. So if the the name is changed to "Marble Swirl Angel Food Cake" then maybe the ratings would be higher. However, if you're looking for a sweet, Starbucks tasting marble cake..look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Cake flour has a smaller gluten content than bread or all-purpose flour, so if you are not using cake flour than you will have to reduce the amount of flour in the recipe. I used 3 cups bread flour and it was still a little on the dry side, but it wasn't dry to the point of crumbling apart, and after icing it it was fine. The second time I used 2+3/4 cups and the texture was perfect without a full layer of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This cake was extremely dry. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Adjusted the recipe to 2.75 cups following suggestions from before and the cake texture is awesome. Fine and melts in the mouth. My family couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Perfection! This is my new favorite marble cake. I followed others suggestions of using only 3 cups of flour and I substituted canola oil for the butter. Next time I will try it with 1/2 applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was very easy to make and I definitely recommend following katieluvs2bake's suggestions on how to mix the ingredients (find her review from 2008). If you layer and twist the 2 colors it turns out lovely in a bundt pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very nice pound cake with just the right amount of sweetness. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9x5 inch glass baking dish. I creamed the butter and sugar together, then added the eggs and vanilla (2 tsp.). I cut the cake flour down to 1 and 1/2 cups and mixed the dry ingredients together then added that to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk, starting and ending with the flour. I then removend part of the batter and added the cocoa and twisted the layers to obtain the marlbed effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States