Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Just okay. I reduced the flour to 3 cups, glad I did or it would have been dry. Doesn't have much flavor at all. Hoping for something like the starbucks marble cake, not nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Turned out well and was delightfully easy! I used a 9X13 rectangular pan and cut the flour as other reviewers had suggested. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsa:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Cake was a little dry but seemed to get better over a couple of days. I will reduce the flour a little more and will probably add a cup of sour cream or yoghurt next time. My son wants it again for his birthday cake and everyone enjoyed it so it is definitely a good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I am hesitant to give this 4 stars, but I didn't completely follow the recipe. I used vanilla soy milk instead of milk because it's what I had in the fridge. I followed someone else's suggestion of how to blend the ingredients in order. I added a little coffee liquor to the portion of batter with cocoa powder, but didn't really taste the coffee at all afterward, I only added about two splashes. I also added strawberries to the white part of the batter. I had about 1/3 of a bag of frozen strawberries, heated them up with a little butter in a double boiler then put them in the food processor to turn them into liquid. I was imagining this would turn the white to a brilliant red color but really it was slightly pink, but the flavor it added I felt was really needed. My friend said the cake tasted great, I thought it could have used even more strawberries and found it a bit boring but nice and moist. I used 3 1/4 cups flour even with the extra liquid from the strawberries because I wanted to make sure it was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very pretty. I little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I followed the advice to decrease flour to 3 cups. I added in a few drops of almond extract into the white batter, and into the chocolate batter added a handful of melted chocolate chips and 2 heaping tbsp. of Nutella(!). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
this recipe is AMAZING! i made the recipe into cupcakes as i prefer individual sizes over a large cake. they turned out wonderful i used only 2 3/4 cups of flour as other reviews suggested. turned out fantastic. I also used a store bought vanilla icing and added 2 teaspoons of cocoa to it making swirls. overall amazing recipe will for sure make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Followed reviewers advise and decreased the flour. I found the cake not dense enough to be a pound cake. it was more like the texture of a sponge cake. Still yum tho :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe but I think it's too sweet for me. I used only 2.5 cups flour and it's fine. Next time, I'll reduce sugar to 1.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mouth2pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Came out Fab!!! I did use 3 cups of all purpose, and creams the butter/sugar together, then added each egg seperatly then the vanilla, i mixed the floor and dry ingredients seperate. then when i added them to the mixture i did little bit of the dry mix then some milk and alternated! Came out delicious, =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States