Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Made a loaf for the first time yesterday. I was all gone today so I had to make another loaf. I took suggestions with using less flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nut meg, use 1 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, and use Starbuck cocoa powder (since that's all I got). It came out perfectly moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
It was too much batter.. It made two pans but it tasted good.. It didnt stick to the pan at all.. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mcchoi4
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I found the cake to taste more like bread than cake, but it was still very good. I made it for my friends, and they all liked it! I topped it with vanilla glaze, made following another allrecipes recipe. The the thick, bready cake plus the sweet glaze made a perfect combination. I reduced the amount of cake flour to 3 cups due to the advice of the other reviewers. The only thing that went wrong was parts of the cake crumbled and fell apart when it was taken out of the pan. This was likely because I forgot to grease the sides of the pan. Remember to grease!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
If I could, I would give this 3 1/2 out of 5 stars for the recipe as is. But the first time I made it I did read the reviews and made adjustments. I used cake flour and decreased it to only 3 cups and used a tab bit more cocoa powder than the recipe called for. I didn't do so well with making the marble effects when mixing, so it turned out to have sort of a chocolate center. All in all the cake tasted pretty good and I would suggest it to others and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
As per the reviews, I cut the flour to 3 cups. I also added 2 tsp milk to the chocolate mixture. Baked for 55 minutes. Still, it was dry to the point of crumbling. Also, the chocolate part was not chocolatey enough. If I try this again, I will use melted chocolate instead of cocoa, and cut the flour even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by astevan_
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
this recipe was great!!! but it had wayyy to much flour, so I recommend using only 3 or 2 and 3/4 cups instead of 3 and 1/2 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
First time making this cake. Next time I will use only 3 cups of flour, it was a little dry. Also, I like to add a little almond extract to my cakes. I like the idea they tell exactly how much batter to use for the chocolate. No guessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I change to 200 g of all purpose flour and use 200 g of confectioner sugar and it turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Kids loved making and eating this cake. Did follow the recommendations of another review as far as cutting flour back to 3 cups and sifting all of the ingredients. The cake is moist and lovely with a chocolate glaze. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is a very good recipe. Like the other reviews said, it is dry. I agree and what I did to fix it was instead of 3 1/2 cups flour I did 3 cups. I added one tablespoon of milk and baked it for 50 minutes. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States