Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I am hesitant to give this 4 stars, but I didn't completely follow the recipe. I used vanilla soy milk instead of milk because it's what I had in the fridge. I followed someone else's suggestion of how to blend the ingredients in order. I added a little coffee liquor to the portion of batter with cocoa powder, but didn't really taste the coffee at all afterward, I only added about two splashes. I also added strawberries to the white part of the batter. I had about 1/3 of a bag of frozen strawberries, heated them up with a little butter in a double boiler then put them in the food processor to turn them into liquid. I was imagining this would turn the white to a brilliant red color but really it was slightly pink, but the flavor it added I felt was really needed. My friend said the cake tasted great, I thought it could have used even more strawberries and found it a bit boring but nice and moist. I used 3 1/4 cups flour even with the extra liquid from the strawberries because I wanted to make sure it was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very pretty. I little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I followed the advice to decrease flour to 3 cups. I added in a few drops of almond extract into the white batter, and into the chocolate batter added a handful of melted chocolate chips and 2 heaping tbsp. of Nutella(!). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
this recipe is AMAZING! i made the recipe into cupcakes as i prefer individual sizes over a large cake. they turned out wonderful i used only 2 3/4 cups of flour as other reviews suggested. turned out fantastic. I also used a store bought vanilla icing and added 2 teaspoons of cocoa to it making swirls. overall amazing recipe will for sure make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Followed reviewers advise and decreased the flour. I found the cake not dense enough to be a pound cake. it was more like the texture of a sponge cake. Still yum tho :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe but I think it's too sweet for me. I used only 2.5 cups flour and it's fine. Next time, I'll reduce sugar to 1.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mouth2pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Came out Fab!!! I did use 3 cups of all purpose, and creams the butter/sugar together, then added each egg seperatly then the vanilla, i mixed the floor and dry ingredients seperate. then when i added them to the mixture i did little bit of the dry mix then some milk and alternated! Came out delicious, =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this cake for an auction at my church fete. Needless to say, this cake was splendidly-wonderful. (I cut the flour to 3cups - coz the proportion seemed rather huge compared to the other ingredients - and the sugar to 1 2/3 cups)I didn't agree with the method stated in the recipe for mixing the ingredients. And so, I creamed the butter and sugar well (until light and fluffy), added egg one by one and beat well after each addition, then added vanilla, and added the sifted dry ingredients alternately with milk, and used the electric mixer to mix well. After removing 2 1/2 cups of the batter, I added the sifted cocoa. I missed the part that said whisk in the cocoa, and used the mixer to mix it in. Luckily it was on low and let to beat for less than a minute. I used a 9" square pan. Poured the cocoa batter first. Then the vanilla one. And covered completely with remaining cocoa batter. I used a spoon to give twists and thus marble it. This took me 45 minutes to bake. Once cooled, I glazed with 'Satiny Chocolate Glaze' (recipe on this site). Fantastic combo! Although I bet the cake would be just as delish even without the glaze! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
this was good not to sweet ,i used 3cups of flour and 1 cup of oel.kids loved it with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I decreased the flour to 3 cups as others recommended. I split the batter between two bread loaf pans and that worked perfectly. The recipe is what I was looking for - sweet but not TOO sweet. If you have a huge sweet tooth this probably won't do it for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States