Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I can't give it 5 stars b/c I had to do some changes. After reading nearly ALL reviews, this is a summary of what I did. - I decreased the flour to 3 cups - I increased the sugar to 2 cups and 1 tablespoon - I increased the vanilla extract to 3 teaspoons - I added 1 teaspoon of almond extract (although I think you can get away with only 1/2 tsp) - Mixing order: I creamed butter and sugar, then added the eggs (one by one ), then I added the vanilla extract. After this, I added the dry mix alternating it with the milk (I used WHOLE milk). - When I separated my batter, I added the almond extract to the white batter - I cooked at 345 degrees for 55 minutes. - Once I removed the cake from the oven, I immediately covered with a cloth and left it to cool - Once it was a little bit cooler, I added a simple confectioner's sugar icing (c.sugar, milk and vanilla extract). With these changes, the cake was moist (still moist 24 hrs later) and it was delicious. Next time, I might add some coffee to oomph the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Oh my goodness, these were so easy and so good! I used all purpose flour, reducing the amount by half a cup. I increased the cocoa to 1/3 cup because I like my chocolate cake. Instead of swirling, I layered the batters on top of one another. The more alternating layers you make, the more swirl effect you will get. Not one cupcake was the same. The cake was moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought that this Pound cake was delicious, not too sweet and great with a cup of coffee. I also used 3 cups of flour as someone suggested. I made this in two pre-sprayed loafs and it came out great. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
It's a nice starting off recipe but as others have mentioned, it is dry unless you make some adjustments. My changes: Increased eggs to 5 increased sugar to 3 cups to the chocolate batter, I add a heaping TBS and a half of mayonnaise - just like the commercial. I also squirt in a little Hershey's syrup. It's a big hit. I bake it at 300 for about an hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this cake for my bf's birthday, but it didn't come out too great. Even after I reduced the flour to 3cups, as others had suggested and only baked it for 50min, it was still very dense and dry. I was hoping for a moist cake, but this was dry. I don't know if it's because I used all purpose flour, but maybe next time i'll add some oil and reduce the flour some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsllb
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wonderful, tastety cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I have never ever written a review here but i am so happy with how my cake turned out. I come from germany where "Mamor kuchen" is very popular and this is just like the one my family back home makes it! Just make sure you use 3 cups of flour NOT 3 1/2!!! First cream your butter and sugar, then add the eggs one by one. Then add flour/milk in little portions. What i also did was use nesquik chocolate powder instead of unsweetend cocoa (thats what we do in germany) and added 2 tbs of nutella. This cake was SO moist! This is def a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I've made this recipe before and I'm currently baking my brother's wedding cake using it. You must must must cut the flour by 1/2-2/3 of a cup or else it will be DRY! Also, cream your butter and sugar first, then add the eggs (1 at a time) and vanilla. Alternate the mixed dry ingredients (sifted) and the milk and you can't go wrong. This cake is dense but it's so moist. The wedding cake I'm making is 4 tiers high and it's the perfect density for stacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calfiremonkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Like others, I reduced the flour to 3 cups and baked mine 50 minutes. I didn't bother measuring the batter I added the cocoa to. I just put a little less than half in a bowl, added the cocoa, poured about half the remaining yellow batter in the bottom of the tube pan, then the chocolate, then the rest of the yellow. Then took a case knife and made a bunch of circles for the swirl. This is the kind of cake that will go in one setting at my table - moist, tender, so delicious you are picking up the crumbs with your fork! Never had a better marble cake - thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
As written this recipe would produce a dry cake, normally cake recipe proportions are 1 part fat, 2 parts sugar and 3 parts flour, so I reduced the flour to 3 cups. I also remember my grandmother whisking the cocoa with equal amounts of hot water when she made her marble cakes, I used 1/4 cup of hot coffee. I used some fat free sour cream I needed to use for the milk, I topped it up to 1 cup with skim milk, I needed to add more milk to the batter as it was still too thick. I increased the vanilla to 1 tbsp as well. I checked mine at 45 minutes, I had few crumbs on the toothpick, I turned off the oven but let the cake sit for 10 more minutes and it was perfect. I used Baker's Joy spray and the cake slipped out of the pan perfectly. This brought back wonderful memories of my grandmother's house on Sunday afternoons. 1/2 recipe bakes in a 9x9 pan in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States