Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It turned out great... Just a slight change though I replace coco powder with melted semi sweet chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paige
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I reduced the flour and used cake flour as suggested and in the recipe but the cake was not sweet enough as some mentioned. It was light but bland. The chocolate part tasted little of chocolate. I think that to make a real. chocolate cake you have to use semisweet baking chocolate. Very disappointed and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and in my household everyone was hiding it just to get another piece! It was gone in 2 days! The only thing i changed is that i used a bunt pan to bake the cake. It turned out to have a crisp outside and a moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Like many others, the recipe AS WRITTEN DID NOT WORK for me. It came out dense to the point of tough; dry, and not edible to the kids. I tried it a second time, following the many excellent suggestions to reduce flour, change sequence of preparation, etc. The result was dense and MOIST and quite tasty. Here's what I changed: **Flour reduced to 3cups. **Baking powder increased to 2tsp. **Doubled the vanilla increased cocoa powder to 1/3 cup of more. **also used brown sugar instead of white, cause that's what I had. **Whipped butter then sugar for a long while. **Added eggs one at a time, beating til smooth each time. **Added flour-mix and milk in alternating thirds, mixing just enough to blend. I checked for doneness long before the stated time, and removed as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this the first time two weeks ago but tweaked it a little. I was looking for a chocolate pound cake so I adapted this receive. I used an additional 1/4 cup of cocoa, I sub. 1tble spoon of vanilla (instead of 2tsp-what can I say we like flavor enhanced.) I also used strong unsweetened tea (loose leaf brewed-black-too lazy to waste/make a cup of coffee just for the cake) to the mix to bring out the cocoa. I added a ganoche adapted drizzle to the top using 1 tble spoon of sugar, milk, butter and chocolate chips. This was a "Chopped"/Paula Dean inspired experiment. (PS I only use real butter in stead of the chemical rich sub). Results-family loved it. I was gone in two days. My teen recently passed up the offer of one of those really rich chocolate cakes at the bakery while shopping yesterday, opting instead to ask me to make this again. I almost fell over there in the store (she is a very finicky eater). We loved it but adapted. I imagine the base recipe is very good that is what I worked off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Either I messed up or this was just terrible - followed advice and only used 3 cups of flour - still DRY DRY DRY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed some readers instructions and cut the amount of flour, which I think helped because it was moist and not dry. It is very dense though, but everyone still really liked it. I would make it again but I had made it for a birthday cake which I would prefer something fluffier for a birthday cake. But this is a great cake to make to go with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made this recipe yesterday. After reading other reviews, I decreased the amount of flour to 2 3/4 cups, and I also decreased the cooking time to 45 minutes because my oven tends to cook hotter than most. Otherwise, I followed directions exactly as written. The first problem I had was that the cake would not release from the bundt pan, even though it had been thoroughly greased and even after following directions for cooling. I tried to use a plastic spatula to help the cake release, but it was stuck to the top of the pan and ended up tearing when it came out. Regardless, I figured it would probably taste good, even if it wasn't pretty, but the cake is just ok. The chocolate flavor really doesn't come through, and even though I decreased the amount of flour, it came out very dry. Definitely need a glass of milk to drink with it. I think the recipe could call for some oil to make the cake the cake more moist, and I think next time I might substitute baking chocolate for the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I always bake and followed these directions exactly, however it was way to dry and thick to the point that it wouldn't even bake fully after an hour and 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States