Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The flavor of this cake was pretty good, but my swirl didn't turn out very pretty ... I think that if I try it again, I won't swirl, I'll just pour the chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
EXCELLENT! I tried this recipe (nd it was my 1st time at baking a cake!!!). It came out JUST right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Delicious! This recipe got rave reviews at home and the office. I used it as a basic pound cake and left out the marbling since I didn't have any cocoa powder on hand. It was amazing! Tasty and rich, sweet but not overpowering. My roommate who rarely craves sweets loved it. We ate it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some tips: I used whole milk because I had boughten it by mistake and I think it went a along way in keeping the cake moist. Also, 50 minutes was enough baking time in my oven. Watch it toward the end as too much time in the oven may cause the center to fall in. (Still very edible though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Incredibly easy, beautiful, moist, and tasty! I baked this in a 9x13 for 35 minutes. Would have been great with chocolate buttercream frosting, but frosting is so not necessary. Will DEFINITELY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have a wonderful pound cake recipe, but I was looking for something different. The chocolate swirl sounded good. It was ok, but it did not have the consistency of pound cake. This cake is very spongy and light! Pound cake should be heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I bake a lot of cakes, and I will be using this recipe again. As others suggested, I reduced the flour by about 1/2 cup. It turned out moist and delicious. I also used 2 8" pans instead of a tube pan and reduced the time. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I took the popular advice and used only 2 3/4 cups flour and baked about 50 minutes. And yet, it was still a little dry. The flavor was nice, but I think this recipe could have used more eggs and maybe even less flour. If I make it again, I might be adventurous enough to experiment with 2 1/4 cups flour. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I didn't follow the recipe instructions, which weren't specific enough. I put the sugar in the blender for 20sec to turn it into superfine sugar, so it would dissolve more readily into the batter. Then, I creamed the butter for 3mins, added the superfine sugar and beat for another 3mins, added eggs and beat until smooth and fluffy, about 2mins. Then I sifted the dry ingredients except cocoa together, and added to the batter alternating between the flour mixture and the milk. At this point, I was using a spatula to fold the ingredients in. After taking some batter out for the choco part, I also sifted the cocoa powder to get rid of lumps. Not sure how it would have turned out if I wasn't so fussy about mixing, but mine seemed fine. Also used both almond and vanilla extracts. I also reduced flour, and a bit of sugar. It still seems a bit dry. My mom liked how it was nice and crusty around the edges fresh out of the oven though. Well, let's see how its like tomorrow. UPDATE: Blergh. It's too dry... I like my old marbled yogurt loaf recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My first marble pound cake attempt and it turned out great! I took the advice of everyone else and cut the flower back to 2 3/4 cups. Serve warm with butter and tea! Will make again. Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Thank You very much for submitting this recipe! This was the first cake I made from scratch and everyone loved it!! I was so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States