Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mcchoi4
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I found the cake to taste more like bread than cake, but it was still very good. I made it for my friends, and they all liked it! I topped it with vanilla glaze, made following another allrecipes recipe. The the thick, bready cake plus the sweet glaze made a perfect combination. I reduced the amount of cake flour to 3 cups due to the advice of the other reviewers. The only thing that went wrong was parts of the cake crumbled and fell apart when it was taken out of the pan. This was likely because I forgot to grease the sides of the pan. Remember to grease!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
If I could, I would give this 3 1/2 out of 5 stars for the recipe as is. But the first time I made it I did read the reviews and made adjustments. I used cake flour and decreased it to only 3 cups and used a tab bit more cocoa powder than the recipe called for. I didn't do so well with making the marble effects when mixing, so it turned out to have sort of a chocolate center. All in all the cake tasted pretty good and I would suggest it to others and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
As per the reviews, I cut the flour to 3 cups. I also added 2 tsp milk to the chocolate mixture. Baked for 55 minutes. Still, it was dry to the point of crumbling. Also, the chocolate part was not chocolatey enough. If I try this again, I will use melted chocolate instead of cocoa, and cut the flour even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by astevan_
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
this recipe was great!!! but it had wayyy to much flour, so I recommend using only 3 or 2 and 3/4 cups instead of 3 and 1/2 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
First time making this cake. Next time I will use only 3 cups of flour, it was a little dry. Also, I like to add a little almond extract to my cakes. I like the idea they tell exactly how much batter to use for the chocolate. No guessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I change to 200 g of all purpose flour and use 200 g of confectioner sugar and it turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Kids loved making and eating this cake. Did follow the recommendations of another review as far as cutting flour back to 3 cups and sifting all of the ingredients. The cake is moist and lovely with a chocolate glaze. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is a very good recipe. Like the other reviews said, it is dry. I agree and what I did to fix it was instead of 3 1/2 cups flour I did 3 cups. I added one tablespoon of milk and baked it for 50 minutes. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe perfect! It was dry and I think it calls for too much cocoa powder and not enough butter. Don't make this unless you make a lot of changes. I think a whole star is too much. If I could do a half A star I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I really love this cake,its very moist and delicious.My kids had a blast.I reduced the amount of flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States