Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This pound cake is excellent. I followed the suggestions of others and used less flour and it turned out perfect. I also used a recipe for chocolate icing found on this website. I drizzled it over the cake - YUMMY! I DEFINTELY WILL MAKE THIS CAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New York, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Like the most recent post, I took the advice of others and decreased the amount of flour. My family thought it was very tasty and it will definately become a "to keep" recipe ;) The only thing different was that my cake took at least an hour and a half to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wonderful Cake! I took the advice of many & decreased the amount of flour by a half a cup and only cooked it for 50 minutes and it was a hit! Used it for my cake business & the customers were very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I, also found this cake too dry. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews until I had already mixed it up, but I still had time to add an extra egg, probably about another 1/2 c. milk, and about 1/4 sugar to the chocolate half. Didn't make a difference, it was still dry. If I try this recipe again, I would definitely cut the flour down, at least 1/2 cup less than suggested. Disappointing for a pound cake with so many eggs in it to still be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I wanted to use up some cake flour, and decided on this recipe. The batter was better than the cake. The finished product was a bit dry even with the decreased amount of flour. Average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allisonmignon
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I followed many of the other reviews tips and lessened the flour (3 cups, minus 2 tbs per cup of all purpose flour). I also added about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips to my cake, sooo good! Baked for 50 min in a bundt pan, cake was moist and perfect with some powdered sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allisonmignon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Marble cake is one of my husband's favorites, but though I've tried many recipes, I've had a hard time finding what we consider the perfect texture - flavorful, somewhat dense, and moist. Well, this is it! As others said, cut the flour to 3 c. and the baking time to 50 minutes. I also used a bit more cocoa. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrixieDarty
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought this cake was a little dry. It taste good but it wasnt the best Marble Cake Ive ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieDarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T. Its a good, pretty cake thats easy to make. It keeps for DAYS as well but dried out a bit. however, if you want to infuse some extra moisture into it, dampen a paper towel, wrap a piece of the cake into it and nuke it for a couple of secions. great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great! but If I hadnt made these changes I think it might have turned out dry: 1. use 3 cups flour (I used normal all purpose flour) 2. Mix differently: First cream butter and sugar together. Beat in eggs one at a time, add vanilla. Then add the premixed dry ingredients SIFTED to the batter alternating with the milk (1/3 flour mixture - 1/3 milk ending with milk) When you put in the cocoa to the 2 1/2 cups of batter SIFT THE COCOA I used salted butter and omitted the extra salt. Also, I used the whisk advise to creat a marbled effect. I put 3/4 of the chocolate batter, then all the white batter and then spooned in the rest of the chocolate batter and spreaded with a knife, then stuck in the whisk all around the cake. Perfect! Glazed with easy chocolate bundt cake glaze from this site NOTE: this is a dense but moist cake making these adjustments. You WILL need a glass of milk! I am giving this 5 stars ONLY BECAUSE I THINK THAT WITH THESE CHANGES ITS WORTH A TRY, AND TO ENCOURAGE OTHERS TO TRY IT! if I were to rate this recipe as is i wouldnt be able to because I didnt follow directions because in my book ingredients arent mixed that way and im not going to risk my ingredients Update: ok, so a day has past and this cake is definetly a 5. it is still moist. its covered only with plastic wrap. forgot to say i glazed this with a glaze found on this site: 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 1 (14 ounce) sweetened condensed milk. heat on medium heat stirring constantly until chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States