Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this cake for an auction at my church fete. Needless to say, this cake was splendidly-wonderful. (I cut the flour to 3cups - coz the proportion seemed rather huge compared to the other ingredients - and the sugar to 1 2/3 cups)I didn't agree with the method stated in the recipe for mixing the ingredients. And so, I creamed the butter and sugar well (until light and fluffy), added egg one by one and beat well after each addition, then added vanilla, and added the sifted dry ingredients alternately with milk, and used the electric mixer to mix well. After removing 2 1/2 cups of the batter, I added the sifted cocoa. I missed the part that said whisk in the cocoa, and used the mixer to mix it in. Luckily it was on low and let to beat for less than a minute. I used a 9" square pan. Poured the cocoa batter first. Then the vanilla one. And covered completely with remaining cocoa batter. I used a spoon to give twists and thus marble it. This took me 45 minutes to bake. Once cooled, I glazed with 'Satiny Chocolate Glaze' (recipe on this site). Fantastic combo! Although I bet the cake would be just as delish even without the glaze! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
this was good not to sweet ,i used 3cups of flour and 1 cup of oel.kids loved it with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I decreased the flour to 3 cups as others recommended. I split the batter between two bread loaf pans and that worked perfectly. The recipe is what I was looking for - sweet but not TOO sweet. If you have a huge sweet tooth this probably won't do it for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a moist cake that's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Yummy recipe, but it was just a little heavy and hard. I didn't find it light and fluffy, but I may have messed up somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A very good basic recipe. Some modifications were needed to make this a moister and wonderful textured cake. I agree that reducing the flour by half a cup worked well. I mixed it a bit different also. Creamed butter and sugar, added eggs one at a time and then added one tsp. vanilla and one tsp. almond extract. Added milk alternately with the mix of flour, salt and baking powder. Turned our great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This cake was extremely dry. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I-Have-Happy-Hens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
it comes out rather dry. I followed the instruction to the point and the cake was well DRY and not moist at all. I am a beginner :) soo....if anyone of you guys have a tip for me to make this cake moist please tell me thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
i love this recipe. i reserve part of the vanilla batter and add strawberry jello powder to make strawberry batter to make a triple marble cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really good cake. 4 stars because i had to follow the suggestion and reduce the flour and add the ingredients in a different order. I also added a 1/4 cup less sugar for my mom who doesn't like super sweet desserts. Next time I think i'll make it even less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States