Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this the first time two weeks ago but tweaked it a little. I was looking for a chocolate pound cake so I adapted this receive. I used an additional 1/4 cup of cocoa, I sub. 1tble spoon of vanilla (instead of 2tsp-what can I say we like flavor enhanced.) I also used strong unsweetened tea (loose leaf brewed-black-too lazy to waste/make a cup of coffee just for the cake) to the mix to bring out the cocoa. I added a ganoche adapted drizzle to the top using 1 tble spoon of sugar, milk, butter and chocolate chips. This was a "Chopped"/Paula Dean inspired experiment. (PS I only use real butter in stead of the chemical rich sub). Results-family loved it. I was gone in two days. My teen recently passed up the offer of one of those really rich chocolate cakes at the bakery while shopping yesterday, opting instead to ask me to make this again. I almost fell over there in the store (she is a very finicky eater). We loved it but adapted. I imagine the base recipe is very good that is what I worked off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Either I messed up or this was just terrible - followed advice and only used 3 cups of flour - still DRY DRY DRY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed some readers instructions and cut the amount of flour, which I think helped because it was moist and not dry. It is very dense though, but everyone still really liked it. I would make it again but I had made it for a birthday cake which I would prefer something fluffier for a birthday cake. But this is a great cake to make to go with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made this recipe yesterday. After reading other reviews, I decreased the amount of flour to 2 3/4 cups, and I also decreased the cooking time to 45 minutes because my oven tends to cook hotter than most. Otherwise, I followed directions exactly as written. The first problem I had was that the cake would not release from the bundt pan, even though it had been thoroughly greased and even after following directions for cooling. I tried to use a plastic spatula to help the cake release, but it was stuck to the top of the pan and ended up tearing when it came out. Regardless, I figured it would probably taste good, even if it wasn't pretty, but the cake is just ok. The chocolate flavor really doesn't come through, and even though I decreased the amount of flour, it came out very dry. Definitely need a glass of milk to drink with it. I think the recipe could call for some oil to make the cake the cake more moist, and I think next time I might substitute baking chocolate for the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I always bake and followed these directions exactly, however it was way to dry and thick to the point that it wouldn't even bake fully after an hour and 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Came out a little dryer than I wanted but maybe a little less flour will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I can't give it 5 stars b/c I had to do some changes. After reading nearly ALL reviews, this is a summary of what I did. - I decreased the flour to 3 cups - I increased the sugar to 2 cups and 1 tablespoon - I increased the vanilla extract to 3 teaspoons - I added 1 teaspoon of almond extract (although I think you can get away with only 1/2 tsp) - Mixing order: I creamed butter and sugar, then added the eggs (one by one ), then I added the vanilla extract. After this, I added the dry mix alternating it with the milk (I used WHOLE milk). - When I separated my batter, I added the almond extract to the white batter - I cooked at 345 degrees for 55 minutes. - Once I removed the cake from the oven, I immediately covered with a cloth and left it to cool - Once it was a little bit cooler, I added a simple confectioner's sugar icing (c.sugar, milk and vanilla extract). With these changes, the cake was moist (still moist 24 hrs later) and it was delicious. Next time, I might add some coffee to oomph the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Oh my goodness, these were so easy and so good! I used all purpose flour, reducing the amount by half a cup. I increased the cocoa to 1/3 cup because I like my chocolate cake. Instead of swirling, I layered the batters on top of one another. The more alternating layers you make, the more swirl effect you will get. Not one cupcake was the same. The cake was moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought that this Pound cake was delicious, not too sweet and great with a cup of coffee. I also used 3 cups of flour as someone suggested. I made this in two pre-sprayed loafs and it came out great. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
It's a nice starting off recipe but as others have mentioned, it is dry unless you make some adjustments. My changes: Increased eggs to 5 increased sugar to 3 cups to the chocolate batter, I add a heaping TBS and a half of mayonnaise - just like the commercial. I also squirt in a little Hershey's syrup. It's a big hit. I bake it at 300 for about an hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States